Brett Young Sets Release Date for Highly Anticipated Album, ‘Across The Sheets’

“Across The Sheets is by far the most adventurous I’ve ever gotten thematically and lyrically,” Young says.


Lexi Liby

| Posted on

July 10, 2023


8:18 am

Share on:

Brett Young; Courtesy of BMLG Records

Brett Young is set to release his fourth studio album, Across The Sheets, on August 4. 

Young said the title is a recurring theme throughout the eight-track project, inspired by “the person you want to share everything with, the one you lay your head down with every night.”

To celebrate the announcement of the new album’s release date, Young recently released a brand new song, “Back To Jesus.” The track dives into the feeling of faith and forgiveness, as well as having that person that is “an answer to a prayer I never prayed, and now somehow I have everything I never even knew I wanted.”

Brett Young - Back To Jesus
Brett Young – Back To Jesus

Across The Sheets is a collection of new and old. The album begins with his newest single, “Dance With You.” This serves as Young’s current single at country radio as it officially hit the airwaves on June 26. 

“Dance With You” keeps the same theme of “Across The Sheets” as it was written in honor of Young’s wife, Taylor.

“Life’s a dance, and if that’s the truth, I only wanna dance with you,” he sings. 

YouTube video

Across The Sheets also includes new versions of a few well-known songs. Young re-records one of his most cherished songs off of his self-titled debut album and he covers the song that inspired him to pursue a career in country music. His re-record of “You Ain’t Here To Kiss Me” is the seventh song on the album followed by his cover of the classic 1994 hit song “Don’t Take The Girl” by Tim McGraw.

“I really dug deep with my writing over the pandemic,” Young said in a release. “Across The Sheets is by far the most adventurous I’ve ever gotten thematically and lyrically. I hope people hear my evolution as a songwriter and artist because I’m really proud of how much I allowed myself to pull back the curtain and let people see more of my life through my music,” says Young.  “We’ve been playing the new songs on tour and to see how fans have already connected with them is truly special.”

Young will take the new music on the road on his Dance With You Tour. The trek kicks off on September 14 in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania with special guests Jake Scott and Griffen Palmer.

His 5, TOUR, 3, 2, 1,  recently concluded after hitting 17 cities and headlining a hometown show at L.A.’s legendary Greek Theatre, just miles from where he grew up in Southern California. Young is currently on the road for Sam Hunt’s Summer on the Outskirts Tour with Lily Rose.

Brett Young - Across The Sheets
Brett Young – Across The Sheets

Across the Sheets Track List:

  1. “Dance With You” (Written by Brett Young, Jordan Minton, Jimmy Robbins)
  2. “Let Go Too Soon” (Written by Brett Young, Chris LaCorte, Jon Nite)
  3. “Back To Jesus” (Written by Brett Young, Justin Ebach, Jon Nite)
  4. “Uncomfortable” (Written by Brett Young, Ryan Marrone, Jon Nite)
  5. “Love Goes On” (Written by Brett Young, Sam Ellis, Julia Michaels)
  6. “I Did This To Me” (Written by Brett Young, Ross Copperman, Gabe Simon)
  7. “You Ain’t Here to Kiss Me (2022)” (Written by Brett Young, Matt Alderman, Tiffany Goss)
  8. “Don’t Take the Girl” (Written by Larry Johnson, Craig Martin)
Share on:

Lexi Liby

Written by

Lexi Liby

I graduated Magna Cum Laude from Kansas State University, earning my Bachelor of Science degree in Communications and a certificate in social media. During my college years, I had the opportunity to publish a few pieces in my University’s newspaper, The Collegian, as well as create my own website. I’ve also previously interned for Country Insider, an iHeartMedia-owned country music industry newsletter. Through these experiences I developed high-level skills in writing, digital media, content creation and media relations.