Brothers Osborne Shocked Over CMA Vocal Duo of the Year Win

Brothers Osborne claimed the title of CMA Vocal Duo of the Year during the star-studded 55th Annual CMA Awards on…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

November 10, 2021

Share on:

Brothers Osborne; Photo by CMA

Brothers Osborne claimed the title of CMA Vocal Duo of the Year during the star-studded 55th Annual CMA Awards on Wednesday. 

Accepting the trophy from the massive stage inside Bridgestone Arena, the duo was presented with the honor by Ingrid Andress and actress Hayley Orrantia. 

“Oh my God, I tell you every time that we have won this award, it’s extremely shocking,” TJ Osborne said as he accepted the award. “Crazy rollercoaster of a year for us in so many ways, especially for me emotionally. It really does feel like love wins tonight…”

“Give this boy a round of applause,“ John Osborne said, prompting a standing ovation. “We love you thank you so much!”

This marks Brothers Osborne’s fourth career win in the CMA Vocal Duo of the Year category. 

Brooks & Dunn, Dan + Shay, Florida Georgia Line and Maddie & Tae were also nominated in the Vocal Duo of the Year category. 

The official CMA Awards website states that the award goes to a duo in which both members “normally perform together and neither of whom is known primarily as an individual performing artist.” The award is “based on the musical performance of the duo as a unit on a country single or album release, as well as the overall contribution to country music.” 

The nomination period for the 2021 show is July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021.

The 55th Annual CMA Awards featured performances from Luke Combs, Jimmie Allen, Gabby Barrett, Brothers Osborne, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Dan + Shay, Jennifer Hudson, Miranda Lambert, Old Dominion, Thomas Rhett, Blake Shelton, Chris Stapleton, Keith Urban, and Zac Brown Band.

Additionally, the show included star-studded collaborations by Chris Young and Kane Brown, Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde, Mickey Guyton, Brittney Spencer and Madeline Edwards, Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood, Dierks Bentley, BRELAND and HARDY. 

Country singers Trace Adkins, Ingrid Andress, Kelsea Ballerini, Deana Carter, Russell Dickerson, Florida Georgia Line, Alan Jackson, Lady A, Scotty McCreery, Darius Rucker, Lainey Wilson, and Trisha Yearwood were on hand to present during the ceremony.

Lauren Daigle, Faith Fennidy, Freddie Freeman, Amy Grant, Dulé Hill, Elle King, Zachary Levi, Hayley Orrantia, Katy Perry, Lionel Richie, Susan Sarandon, Saycon Sengbloh and Kurt Warner also made special appearances throughout the broadcast. 

Hosted by Luke Bryan, the 2021 CMA Awards broadcasted live from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena on Wednesday, Nov. 10 at 8/7c on ABC. 


Share on:

More from Lauren Jo Black

More posts from Lauren Jo Black ›

You may also like