Carly Pearce and Lee Brice Win Single Of The Year for ‘I Hope You’re Happy Now’ at 2021 ACM Awards

Carly Pearce and Lee Brice took home yet another ACM Award for “I Hope You’re Happy Now,” clinching the title…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

April 18, 2021


10:43 pm

Share on:

Carly Peace; Photo Courtesy ACM Awards

Carly Pearce and Lee Brice took home yet another ACM Award for “I Hope You’re Happy Now,” clinching the title of Single of the Year on Sunday evening (April 18). 

The superstars took the stage to accept the honor together at Nashville’s Grand Ole Opry House and were overcome with joy over the news. 

“I love country music more than anything in the whole world,” Pearce gushed. She went on to thank her co-writers and Brice for joining her on the song. 

“We wrote this song about my story, and I guess it resonated with everybody,” she said. 

Brice thanked his wife and team for their support and sweetly thanked Carly for inviting him to join her on the chart-topping track. 

 “God puts people in your lives…He puts people like you in my life and lets things like this happen,” he said. “Thank you, Carly.” 

Pearce and Brice previously took home the ACM Award for Music Event of the Year, which was revealed just days ahead of the show. 

Single Of The Year is awarded to the artist(s), producer(s) and record label(s).

Also nominated for ACM Single of the Year were Miranda Lambert’s “Bluebird,” Gabby Barrett’s “I Hope,” Ingrid Andress’ “More Hearts Than Mine” and Maren Morris’ “The Bones.”

The 56th ACM Awards also featured performances from Brothers Osborne, Kenny Chesney, Eric Church, Luke Combs, Dan + Shay, Mickey Guyton, Alan Jackson, Thomas Rhett, Blake Shelton, Chris Stapleton, Lady A, Ashley McBryde, Keith Urban, Gabby Barrett, Jimmie Allen, Little Big Town and more.

Additionally, the show included star-studded collaborations by Dierks Bentley feat. The War And Treaty, Miranda Lambert with Jack Ingram and Jon Randall, Maren Morris and Ryan Hurd, Chris Young feat. Kane Brown, Carly Pearce and Lee Brice, as well as Carrie Underwood & CeCe Winans. The show opener featured the live debut of Elle King and Miranda Lambert’s duet, “Drunk (And I Don’t Want To Go Home).”

Co-hosted by Keith Urban and Mickey Guyton, the 2021 ACM Awards took place in Music City for the second consecutive year. The three-hour awards show took place at three iconic Nashville venues, including Grand Ole Opry House, Ryman Auditorium and The Bluebird Cafe. The awards show aired on Sunday, April 18 (live 8:00-11:00 PM ET) on CBS Television Network and were also streamed live on CBS All Access.

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for and her work being featured on She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.