Carly Pearce Returns To Her Roots On Upcoming Project, ’29’

Carly Pearce; Photo by Allister Ann
Carly Pearce; Photo by Allister Ann
Carly Pearce; Photo by Allister Ann

Carly Pearce is ready to share her truth with the world on her forthcoming project, 29

Out Friday, February 19, the seven-song release finds the songstress returning to her roots and getting more vulnerable than ever before. 

Pearce announced the upcoming release of 29 in a video clip shared across her social media channels on Thursday (Feb. 4). 

“Losing busbee was a jolt. He was my champion before anyone believed… and then came the divorce, something I never saw coming,” she says in the video. “In that grief, I started swimming to save myself from the sadness then realized I found something even deeper. 29 came from that recognition. I got back to myself, to my roots, to my truth and then the songs just kept spilling out. I was so excited that I wanted to share them with you to introduce you to who I’ve always been and who I am as an artist a person and a woman who understands. I am Carly Pearce. This is 29.”

Pearce co-wrote each of the seven tracks on 29, including her latest single, “Next Girl,” and the previously released “Show Me Around,” a tribute to her late friend and producer, busbee. This collection of music draws comparisons to Pearce’s heroes such as Loretta Lynn, The Judds, and other ’90s country superstars. 

The music was born after she experienced a “creative burst” when writing with Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne.

“The best songs come from the moment, from real creative spark – and Josh and Shane bring it out of me,” Carly says. “I was unsure where my music would be without busbee. They both know where my musical heart is, and they understand how to capture exact details for much larger truths. The more specific they write, the more people I think can see themselves in the songs.”

“I feel lighter reflecting on the last year and pouring my soul into this music and wanted to share it in hopes that others to will take from the songs what they need,” she goes on to say. “With streaming and social media, we were able record music for the sole purpose of letting my fans know where my heart is without any expectations. That’s a kind of immediacy that makes making records really exciting. I can’t wait to share 29.”

Carly Pearce - 29; Cover Art Courtesy of Big Machine Records
Carly Pearce – 29; Cover Art Courtesy of Big Machine Records

1. “Next Girl” | Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
2. “Should’ve Known Better” | Carly Pearce, Jordan Reynolds, Emily Shackelton
3. “29” | Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
4. “Liability” | Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
5. “Messy” | Carly Pearce, Sarah Buxton, Jimmy Robbins*
6. “Show Me Around” | Carly Pearce, Emily Shackelton, Ben West
7. “Day One” | Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Matthew Ramsey

Produced by Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne
*Produced by Jimmy Robbins

Tags from the story