Gabby Barrett and Jimmie Allen Kick Off ACM Awards with Tribute To Las Vegas

Gabby Barrett and Jimmie Allen; Photo by Getty Images for ACM
Gabby Barrett and Jimmie Allen; Photo by Getty Images for ACM
Gabby Barrett and Jimmie Allen; Photo by Getty Images for ACM

Jimmie Allen and Gabby Barrett, the 2021 ACM New Male And Female Artist Of The Year, kicked off the 57th Academy Of Country Music Awards on Monday, March 7, with an epic tribute to Sin City.

Live from Allegiant Stadium in Nevada, the co-hosts of the 2022 ACM Awards opened the show with a pair of performances that included Barrett covering Faith Hill’s Top 5 hit, “Let’s Go To Vegas,” and Allen reimagining Elvis’ fan-favorite tune, “Viva Las Vegas.”

The artists’ performances took place from the upper level of the massive stadium as fans sang along from below.  

Barrett is nominated for Female Artist Of The Year, while Allen is nominated for Male Artist Of The Year at the coveted awards ceremony.

The 57th Academy of Country Music Awards aired on Monday, March 7, exclusively on Prime Video at 8/7c

Co-hosted by global icon Dolly Parton with Allen and Barrett, the two-hour show livestreamed without commercials and featured 20+ performances from some of country music’s hottest superstars and rising newcomers.

The performance lineup included Parker McCollum and Lainey Wilson, who were crowned this year’s New Male and New Female Artist of the Year, respectively as well as Jason Aldean, Carrie Underwood, Kane Brown, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Walker Hayes, Maren Morris, Brothers Osborne, Thomas Rhett, Chris Stapleton, Chris Young, Lady A and Kelly Clarkson.

“The concert event of the year” also included several collaborations, including Parton featuring Kelsea Ballerini (“Big Dreams & Faded Jeans”), BRELAND featuring Thomas Rhett (“Praise The Lord”), Jordan Davis (“Buy Dirt,” feat. Luke Bryan), Brothers Osborne and Brittney Spencer (“These Boots Are Made for Walkin’”), Parmalee and Blanco Brown featuring Brooke Eden (“Just the Way”), Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde (“Never Wanted to Be That Girl”), and Chris Young featuring Mitchell Tenpenny (“At the End of a Bar”).

The 2022 ACM Awards presenters included Alan Ritchson (actor, Reacher), Derek Carr (quarterback, Las Vegas Raiders), Guy Torry (comedian, Phat Tuesdays), James Patterson (author, Run Rose Run), Jason Aldean, Kelsey Asbille (actor, Yellowstone), Luke Grimes (actor, Yellowstone), Mickey Guyton, and Tom Pelphrey (actor, Outer Range).

The ACM Awards made history as the first major awards show to livestream exclusively as it  streamed live on Prime Video in the U.S., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the UK.