Gabby Barrett Surprised With Breakthrough Video of the Year Win at 2020 CMT Music Awards

Gabby Barrett took home her very first major awards show at the 2020 CMT Music Awards.

The rising star was crowned with Breakthrough Video of the Year for her massive debut hit, “I Hope.”

Worldwide superstar Taylor Swift, who received the honor 13 years ago, was on hand to present Barrett with the award (via video).

“I don’t even know what to say because I didn’t think that I was going to win,” Barrett confessed.

“I would like to thank my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ,” she went on to say.

The American Idol alum also thanked her fans, husband, family and team.

“I Hope” appears on her debut album, Goldmine, and was co-written by Barrett alongside Jon Nite and Zach Kale. The song is certified Platinum in Canada and Triple Platinum in the United States.

Also nominated in the Breakthrough Video of the Year category were Blanco Brown’s “The Git Up,” Caylee Hammack’s “Family Tree,” Ingrid Andress’ “More Hearts Than Mine,” Riley Green’s “I Wish Grandpas Never Died” and Travis Denning’s “After a Few.”

The winner was determined via fan votes placed on CMT’s official website.

The 2020 CMT Music Awards aired Wednesday night (Oct. 21) on CMT and featured performances from Ashley McBryde, Dan + Shay, Jimmie Allen, Noah Cyrus, Kelsea Ballerini, Halsey, Little Big Town, Luke Bryan, Luke Combs, Brooks & Dunn, Maren Morris, Kane Brown, Morgan Wallen, Sam Hunt and Shania Twain as well as debut performances by Caylee Hammack, HARDY, Ingrid Andress, Mickey Guyton, Riley Green and Travis Denning.

Kane Brown, Ashley McBryde and Sarah Hyland served as co-hosts.