HARDY Recruits Superstars and Legends For ‘Hixtape Vol. 1’

Surprise – HARDY is dropping an album on Friday and it features a slew of country music’s hottest stars. The…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

September 12, 2019

Share on:

Surprise – HARDY is dropping an album on Friday and it features a slew of country music’s hottest stars.

The record, dubbed Hixtape Vol. 1, includes 10 tracks and 17 of HARDY’s all-star friends.

Artists featured on the star-studded track list include Cole Swindell, Dustin Lynch, Morgan Wallen, Trace Adkins, Joe Diffie, Thomas Rhett, Jameson Rodgers, Keith Urban, Mitchell Tenpenny, Jon Langston, Tracy Lawrence, Jake Owen, Lauren Alaina and Devin Dawson.

Originally planned as a four-song EP, the track list grew as word about the album got out.

“The more we kept asking people and taking chances … people kept saying ‘yes’ and it just became this really cool thing,” HARDY explains. “Eighty percent of them are my friends. The spectrum is really broad. We have everyone from Devin Dawson to Joe Diffie, and everything in between. I think there’s something for every type of country fan on the record.”

If all goes as planned, Hixtape Vol. 1 is just the beginning for HARDY and his friends.

“I think it’s a perfect representation of who I am as an artist,” he says. “There will be more. One hundred percent there will be more. My personal goal is that this does really well, that other artists hear this and they want to be on the next one … to which I would reply, ‘absolutely.’”

The release of Hixtape Vol. 1 comes on the heels of HARDY’s incredible success as an artist and songwriter. The man behind Blake Shelton’s “God’s Country” and “Hell Right” and Florida Georgia Line’s “Simple” is climbing up the charts with his solo release “Rednecker.” Next month, he’ll begin his run headlining Sirius XM’s The Highway Finds Tour.


HARDY Hixtape Vol. 1 Track List

1. “Boy From the South” featuring Cole Swindell and Dustin Lynch
(Matt Dragstrem, Michael Hardy and Brett Tyler)

2. “He Went to Jared” featuring Morgan Wallen
(Michael Hardy, Chase McGill and Morgan Wallen)

3. “Redneck Tendencies” featuring Trace Adkins and Joe Diffie
(Michael Hardy, Brian Kelley, Ernest K. Smith and Ben Stennis)

4. “Nothin’ Out Here” featuring Thomas Rhett
(Michael Hardy, Ben Hayslip and Jimmy Yeary)

5. “My Kinda Livin’” featuring Hunter Phelps and Jameson Rodgers
(Michael Hardy, Cameron Montgomery and Hunter Phelps)

6. “No Place Like Hometown” featuring Keith Urban and Hillary Lindsey
(Michael Hardy, Mark Holman and Hillary Lindsey)

7. “Something a Lil’ Stronger” featuring Mitchell Tenpenny and Jon Langston
(Bart Butler, Michael Hardy, Jake Mitchell and Brett Tyler)

8. “What They Make Backroads For” featuring Tracy Lawrence and Jake Owen
(Michael Hardy, Jordan Schmidt and Josh Thompson)

9. “Turn You Down” featuring Morgan Wallen and Zakk Wylde
(Ben Burgess, Jacob Durrett, Michael Hardy and Morgan Wallen)

10. “One Beer” featuring Lauren Alaina and Devin Dawson
(Michael Hardy, Hillary Lindsey and Jake Mitchell)

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for Answers.com and her work being featured on Forbes.com. She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.