Jelly Roll, Thomas Rhett Among Just-Announced CMA Triple Play Award Recipients

Jelly Roll is a first-time recipient.


Madeleine O’Connell

| Posted on

March 8, 2024


3:51 pm

Share on:

Jelly Roll; Photo Courtesy CMA, Thomas Rhett; Photo by Grayson Gregory

The Country Music Association has unveiled the recipients for the 14th CMA Triple Play Awards and Jelly Roll and Thomas Rhett are among the recipients.

The 2024 ceremony, hosted by composer and CMA Board member, Jim Beavers, will take place on Monday, April 15 in Nashville, TN. Throughout the evening, some of the industry’s top songwriters will be recognized for their work in crafting country music’s most renowned chart-topping hits.

CMA Songwriter Advocate Award

One of the most notable titles of the evening, the CMA Songwriter Advocate Award, will be presented to Chairman and CEO of Universal Music Publishing Group Nashville and CMA Board member, Troy Tomlinson. 

The CMA Songwriter Advocate Award acknowledges an individual who has devoted their life’s work to advancing the art of songwriting and the careers of present-day songwriters as well as the aspiring future songwriters. The honoree receiving this award is someone who has made significant contributions towards the growth of the songwriting industry, specifically in the country music genre, and who has proven to have made a historical impact on the songwriting community, on country music as a whole and on CMA. 

Troy Tomlinson; Photo by Kat Bradshaw
Troy Tomlinson; Photo by Kat Bradshaw

Tomlinson easily fits into those requirements as he has spent his entire career passionately advocating for writers and artists such as Kelsea Ballerini, Casey Beathard, Luke Bryan, Kenny Chesney, Eric Church, Dean Dillon, Tom Douglas, Miranda Lambert, Willie Nelson, Dolly Parton, Blake Shelton, Taylor Swift, Thomas Rhett, Hank Williams and many others. It’s also important to note that Tomlinson is also a member of the CMA Board of Directors and has served numerous other organizations including Nashville Songwriters Association International, the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum Board of Officers and Trustees, and Belmont University.

“Since I was about six years old, songs have painted pictures that helped me both escape and embrace life,” says Tomlinson. “To have spent the past four decades supporting and advocating for the world’s greatest songwriters has been nothing less than an honor and a privilege. Being honored by CMA at this point in my life is extraordinarily rewarding and humbling.” 

Jelly Roll; Photo Courtesy of CMA
Jelly Roll; Photo Courtesy of CMA

Jelly Roll To Be Honored As First-Time Recipient

In addition to the CMA Songwriter Advocate Award, seven songwriters will be honored as CMA Triple Play Award recipients. This year’s honorees include Ashley Gorley, Charlie Handsome, Jelly Roll, Chase McGill, Hunter Phelps, Jordan Schmidt and Thomas Rhett.

What Is A CMA Triple Play Award?

According to a recent press release, the CMA Triple Play Award is presented to songwriters who have penned three No. 1 songs within a 12-month period based on the Country AircheckBillboard Country Airplay and Billboard Hot Country Songs charts. 

Jelly Roll and Schmidt will be celebrated as first-time recipients of the coveted award, whereas Gorley remains the most decorated recipient. This year Gorley will be receiving his 21st, 22nd, and 23rd CMA Triple Play Awards. 

Thomas Rhett; Photo by Grayson Gregory, Courtesy Instagram
Thomas Rhett; Photo by Grayson Gregory, Courtesy Instagram

The 14th CMA Triple Play Awards Recipients:

Jelly Roll

“Son Of A Sinner,” recorded by Jelly Roll

“Need A Favor,” recorded by Jelly Roll

“Save Me,” recorded by Jelly Roll featuring Lainey Wilson

Ashley Gorley

“She Had Me At Heads Carolina,” recorded by Cole Swindell

“You Proof,” recorded by Morgan Wallen

“Last Night,” recorded by Morgan Wallen

“What He Didn’t Do,” recorded by Carly Pearce

“Gold,” recorded by Dierks Bentley

“Girl In Mine,” recorded by Parmalee

“Thinkin’ Bout Me,” recorded by Morgan Wallen

“God Gave Me A Girl,” recorded by Russell Dickerson

“World on Fire,” recorded by Nate Smith

Charlie Handsome

“Wasted On You,” recorded by Morgan Wallen

“You Proof,” recorded by Morgan Wallen

“Last Night,” recorded by Morgan Wallen

Chase McGill

“With A Woman You Love,” recorded by Justin Moore

“5 Foot 9,” recorded by Tyler Hubbard

“Next Thing You Know,” recorded by Jordan Davis

Hunter Phelps

“Best Thing Since Backroads,” recorded by Jake Owen

“New Truck,” recorded by Dylan Scott

“wait in the truck,” recorded by HARDY featuring Lainey Wilson

Jordan Schmidt

“wait in the truck,” recorded by HARDY featuring Lainey Wilson

“Bury Me in Georgia,” recorded by Kane Brown

“Watermelon Moonshine,” recorded by Lainey Wilson

Thomas Rhett

“Half Of Me,” recorded by Thomas Rhett featuring Riley Green

“Angels (Don’t Always Have Wings),” recorded by Thomas Rhett

“Stars Like Confetti,” recorded by Dustin Lynch.

Share on:

Madeleine O’Connell graduated from North Central College with a bachelors degree in Journalism and Broadcast Communications before deciding to pursue her studies further at DePaul University. There, she earned her masters degree in Digital Communication & Media Arts. O’Connell served as a freelance writer for over two years while also interning with the Academy of Country Music, SiriusXM and Circle Media and assisting with Amazon Music’s Country Heat Weekly podcast. In addition to Country Now, she has been published in American Songwriter, Music Mayhem, and Holler.Country. Madeleine O’Connell is a member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.