Jordan Davis Taps Luke Bryan for Duet on Forthcoming ‘Buy Dirt’ EP

Jordan Davis is set to release a brand new, eight-song EP and he recruited a country superstar to join him…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

May 3, 2021


3:11 pm

Share on:

JordaJordan Davis; Photo by David Bradley, Luke Bryan; Photo by Andrew Wendowskin Davis, Luke Bryan

Jordan Davis is set to release a brand new, eight-song EP and he recruited a country superstar to join him on the project. 

Davis’ Buy Dirt is set to release on Friday, May 21 and reigning ACM Entertainer of the Year, Luke Bryan, lends his vocals to the project’s title track. 

The EP serves as the follow-up to the Louisiana native’s 2020 self-titled EP and his debut album, Home State

“I’ve always loved artists who take risks,” Davis shared in a release. “I’m in a different spot in my life than I was when I released Home State. We all are! 2020 was a tough time for everyone. I was able to use that time to re-center some things in my world, and I didn’t want those lessons to go to waste. I wanted to create something special. The best way to that was to write honestly, and we did a lot of that on this record.”

YouTube video

The idea to incorporate Bryan came after the singer/songwriters met at an awards show and later crossed paths while golfing. 

“We sat around the fire after a golf tournament one day, smoking cigars and talking about everything but music,” Davis recalled. “That conversation always stuck with me. Luke isn’t just a great entertainer; he’s a great Dad, a great husband, and a great friend, too. That’s what ‘Buy Dirt’ embodies. When I wrote ‘Buy Dirt,’ I knew he could relate to the song’s message. I took a chance and asked him to join me on the recording, and he said yes.”

Buy Dirt was produced by Paul DiGiovanni and features seven tracks co-written by Davis. The only outside cut is the John Prine-inspired “Blow Up Your TV.”

Davis’ current single, “Almost Maybes,” is currently Top 10 on the country radio charts. The country hitmaker will return to the road this fall on Kane Brown’s Blessed and Free Tour.

Buy Dirt Track Listing:
1. Blow Up Your TV (Written by John Prine and Jeffrey Bradford Kent)
2. Buy Dirt (feat. Luke Bryan) (Written by Jordan Davis, Jacob Davis, Josh Jenkins, Matt Jenkins)
3. Need To Not (Written by Jordan Davis, Jacob Davis, Josh Jenkins, Matt Jenkins)
4. Drink Had Me (Written by Jordan Davis, Ashley Gorley, Emily Weisband, Paul DiGiovanni)
5. Lose You (Written by Jordan Davis, Paul DiGiovanni, Josh Kerr, Josh Dorr)
6. Almost Maybes (Written by Jordan Davis, Jesse Frasure, Hillary Lindsey)
7. I Still Smoked (Written by Jordan Davis, Randy Montana, Jonathan Singleton)
8. Trying (Written by Jordan Davis, Ashley Gorley, Emily Weisband, Paul DiGiovanni)

YouTube video
Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for and her work being featured on She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.