Lainey Wilson Unveils ‘Whirlwind’ Track List

Wilson says she hopes this collection of songs brings fans the same comfort as it has brought her.


Madeleine O’Connell

| Posted on

June 25, 2024


12:40 pm

Share on:

Lainey Wilson; Photo by Eric Ryan Anderson

Lainey Wilson unveils the track list for her forthcoming and highly anticipated record, Whirlwind. 

The project, which drops on August 23, features 14 tracks, all of which were co-written by the multi-platinum female country star. She opens with a tune titled “Keep Up With Jones” and continues with her fan-favorite single, “Country’s Cool Again” before diving into the only collaboration on the entire album, “Good Horses (feat. Miranda Lambert),” which the pair of artists have already previewed live on stage.  

In addition to “Country’s Cool Again,” fans have also gotten a taste of Whirlwind through the lead single, “Hang Tight Honey,” which is currently in the Top 20 at Country radio and climbing.

While reflecting on her brand-new set of work, Wilson revealed that she has been holding onto these songs for several years now, waiting for the perfect time to share them with the world. These songs are expected to share insight into Wilson’s world as she returns to her Louisiana roots and offers a set of humbling tracks for fans to bring into their own lives. 

“Writing & recording these 14 songs over the past couple of years has helped me stay grounded in ways you’d never believe,” Wilson shared in a recent release. “This album brought me back to my roots and made me feel at home during times when I couldn’t have been further away and my biggest hope is that it gives you that same sense of comfort that it has for me.”

Lainey Wilson - Whirlwind; Photo by Eric Ryan Anderson
Lainey Wilson – Whirlwind; Photo by Eric Ryan Anderson

Whirlwind Track List:

1.      Keep Up With Jones (Lainey Wilson, Josh Kear, Wyatt McCubbin)  

2.      Country’s Cool Again (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson, Aslan Freeman)  

3.      Good Horses (feat. Miranda Lambert) (Lainey Wilson, Miranda Lambert, Luke Dick)  

4.      Broken Hearts Still Beat (Lainey Wilson, Dallas Wilson, Josh Thompson, Blake Pendergrass)  

5.      Whirlwind (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson)  

6.      Call A Cowboy (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson)  

7.      Hang Tight Honey (Lainey Wilson, Driver Williams, Jason Nix, Paul Sikes)  

8.      Bar In Baton Rouge (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Kasey Tyndall, Jason Nix)  

9.      Counting Chickens (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Josh Kear, Dallas Wilson, Jon Decious)  

10.   4x4xU (Lainey Wilson, Jon Decious, Aaron Raitiere)  

11.   Ring Finger (Lainey Wilson, Aaron Raitiere, Marti Dodson, Jon Decious)  

12.   Middle Of It (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson)  

13.   Devil Don’t Go There (Lainey Wilson, Abram Dean, Lance Miller, Joe Fox)  

14.   Whiskey Colored Crayon (Lainey Wilson, Josh Kear, Wyatt McCubbin)  

New Song “4x4xU” Coming July 4

Along with announcing the official track list, the GRAMMY winner also shared that she will be dropping yet another preview of the album with her brand-new song, “4x4xU” coming July 4 via BBR Music Group/BMG Nashville.

The forthcoming song is said to combine Wilson’s “distinctive songwriting style and signature country flair” through what is described as a “stripped-back, deeply personal record that offers a modern yet nostalgic ballad.” She once again digs deep while illustrating the journey of finding comfort in a loved one amidst the rollerocaster of life. 

Pre-order/pre-save/pre-add “4x4xU” and Whirlwind HERE.

Today Show Appearance

Also on Tuesday morning (June 25), Wilson performed her chart-climbing single, “Hang Tight Honey,” as well as fan-favorites “Heart Like A Truck” and “Watermelon Moonshine” in front of an enthusiastic crowd on the Today Show as part of this year’s Citi Concert Series. 

During her appearance in New York City, she also made a young fan’s Make-A-Wish come try by bringing her up on stage to sing right alongside her.  

Fans can catch Lainey Wilson on the North American leg of her current headlining Country’s Cool Again Tour throughout the year. For a full list of tour dates and more information, please visit

Share on:

Madeleine O’Connell graduated from North Central College with a bachelors degree in Journalism and Broadcast Communications before deciding to pursue her studies further at DePaul University. There, she earned her masters degree in Digital Communication & Media Arts. O’Connell served as a freelance writer for over two years while also interning with the Academy of Country Music, SiriusXM and Circle Media and assisting with Amazon Music’s Country Heat Weekly podcast. In addition to Country Now, she has been published in American Songwriter, Music Mayhem, and Holler.Country. Madeleine O’Connell is a member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.