Little Big Town Wins Duo/Group Video of the Year at 2021 CMT Music Awards

Little Big Town’s “Wine, Beer, Whiskey” was named Duo/Group Video of the Year during the star-studded 2021 CMT Music Awards…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

June 9, 2021


7:18 pm

Share on:

Little Big Town; Getty Images for CMT

Little Big Town’s “Wine, Beer, Whiskey” was named Duo/Group Video of the Year during the star-studded 2021 CMT Music Awards on Wednesday, June 9. 

“Wow, oh my goodness,” LBT’s Karen Fairchild said upon taking the stage. 

After decalaring, “this is awesome,” Kimberly Schlapman expressed her excitement over life returning to a somewhat normal state, gushing, “First of all, we’re back and making music, people!” 

They went on to thank CMT, their fans and their team before telling the audience, “We love you guys so much! Thank you!”  

Also nominated in the Duo/Group Video of the Year category were: Brothers Osborne’s “All Night,” Lady A’s “Like A Lady,” Old Dominion’s “Never Be Sorry,” Parmalee and Blanco Brown’s “Just The Way,” and Runaway June’s “We Were Rich.” 

Co-hosted by superstars Kelsea Ballerini and Kane Brown, the 2021 CMT Music Awards aired on Wednesday, June 9 and featured performances from Ballerini with Paul Klein from LANY and Brown with Chris Young.

Additionally, the two-hour event included collaborations from BRELAND and Mickey Guyton, Brothers Osborne and Dierks Bentley, H.E.R. and Chris Stapleton, Ingrid Andress and JP Saxe, Lady A with Carly Pearce and Lindsay Ell, Lauren Alaina and Jon Pardi, Mickey Guyton and Gladys Knight, Miranda Lambert, Jack Ingram and Jon Randall and NEEDTOBREATHE with Carrie Underwood.

Chris Stapleton, Luke Bryan, Luke Combs and Thomas Rhett also performed while Blanco Brown, Dylan Scott, Hailey Whitters, Lainey Wilson, Niko Moon and Tenille Arts appeared on the Ram Trucks Side Stage.

Presenters included Anthony Mackie, Brett Young, Busy Philipps, Carly Pearce, Dylan Scott, Gladys Knight, Iliza Shlesinger, Little Big Town, Michael Strahan, Mickey Guyton, Restless Road, Tennessee Titans’ Taylor Lewan and Trace Adkins, as well as CMT Hot 20 Countdown hosts Cody Alan, Katie Cook and Ashley ShahAhmadi.

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for and her work being featured on She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.