Luke Combs’ New Song ‘Without You’ Is an Emotional Tribute To His Wife, Family and Fans

ACM Male Artist of the Year Luke Combs is gearing up to release a deluxe version of his latest album…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

September 19, 2020


9:30 am

Share on:

Luke Combs and wife, Nicole

ACM Male Artist of the Year Luke Combs is gearing up to release a deluxe version of his latest album and to celebrate, he released a new song and shared the track list for the project.

Out October 23, the new deluxe edition, dubbed What You See Ain’t Always What You Get, includes the album’s 18 original tracks (with the addition of “Six Feet Apart) as well as five brand new songs. The new tracks are: “Cold As You,” “The Other Guy,” “My Kinda Folk,” “Without You” (feat. Amanda Shires) and “Forever After All.”

To coincide with the track list reveal, Combs released a touching new song called “Without You.” The track, which features Shires on the violin, is a tribute to the superstar’s wife, family and fans.

YouTube video

“I’ve got a brand new song out called ‘Without You.’ It is a thank you to my family, my wife, and to my incredible fans for everything. It feels like perfect timing. Three nights ago I got to sing on the @ACMawards
and was lucky enough to take home two incredible awards, Combs shared on social media following the song’s release. “None of this is possible without you, THANK YOU. Thank you for letting me live this crazy dream I get to wake up to everyday. I will never take it for granted and I will never stop making music for y’all. I would love for you to go take a listen and let me know what you think.”

The release of  What You See Ain’t Always What You Get comes on the heels of yet another record-breaking year for the North Carolina native, who recently earned his ninth consecutive No.1 single with “Lovin’ On You.” After taking home two ACM Awards this week, Combs is heading into the upcoming CMA Awards with six nominations, including Entertainer of the Year.

What You See Ain’t Always What You Get Track List:

1. Beer Never Broke My Heart
2. Refrigerator Door
3. Even Though I’m Leaving
4. Lovin’ On You
5. Moon Over Mexico
6. 1, 2 Many (feat. Brooks & Dunn)
7. Blue Collar Boys
8. New Everyday
9. Reasons
10. Every Little Bit Helps
11. Dear Today
12. What You See Is What You Get
13. Does To Me (feat. Eric Church)
14. Angels Workin’ Overtime
15. All Over Again
16. Nothing Like You
17. Better Together
18. Six Feet Apart
19. Cold As You
20. The Other Guy
21. My Kinda Folk
22. Without You (feat. Amanda Shires)
23. Forever After All

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for and her work being featured on She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.