Miranda Lambert, Jack Ingram and Jon Randall Announce ‘The Marfa Tapes’ Album

Miranda Lambert is teaming up with her longtime collaborators Jack Ingram and Jon Randall, to release a new album, The…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

March 5, 2021

Share on:

Miranda Lambert, Jack Ingram, Jon Randall; Photo by Spencer Peeples

Miranda Lambert is teaming up with her longtime collaborators Jack Ingram and Jon Randall, to release a new album, The Marfa Tapes.

Out May 7, the project is a collection of intimate, raw songs the artists wrote and recorded together in the small town of Marfa, Texas. Recorded with just a pair of microphones and an acoustic guitar, the project offers fans an unfiltered glimpse of the trio’s unique songwriting process. 

“I’ll never forget pulling into Marfa that first night at 4am,” said Lambert. “The stars were like nothing I’d ever seen before, just this endless blanket hanging so low you could reach up and touch them. I immediately understood why this place was so special.”

“There’s no TV, no radio, nothing to do out there but pour a cocktail, sit around the campfire, and talk,” continued Randall. “Eventually, that just inevitably leads to songs. There’s no pressure to write, but most of the time, the three of us can’t seem to help ourselves.”

The majority of the album was recorded outdoors, with the sounds of the desert surrounding them. 

“There’s something singular that happens in that moment of collaboration and creation, something you can never really recreate in the studio,” said Ingram. “Our hope with this album was to share a little bit of that magic with people.”

In addition to unveiling plans to release the new album, Lambert, Ingram and Randall also shared the brand new track, “In His Arms.” Click above to listen. 

The trio shared The Marfa Tapes 15-song track listing, which also includes new versions of ACM Song of the Year “Tin Man” as well as fan favorite “Tequila Does.”

Fans can pre-order the album HERE

The Marfa Tapes

The Marfa Tapes Track List:

01) In His Arms
02) I Don’t Like It
03) The Wind’s Just Gonna Blow
04) Am I Right Or Amarillo
05) Waxahachie
06) Homegrown Tomatoes
07) Breaking A Heart
08) Ghost
09) Geraldene
10) We’ll Always Have The Blues
11) Tin Man
12) Two-Step Down To Texas
13) Anchor
14) Tequila Does
15) Amazing Grace (West Texas)

Share on:

More from Lauren Jo Black

More posts from Lauren Jo Black ›

You may also like