Old Dominion Lands Title of ACM Awards Group of the Year

Old Dominion; Photo Credit: Brent Harrington/CBS
Old Dominion wins Group of the Year on the 55TH ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC AWARDS™, hosted by Keith Urban and broadcasting Wednesday, Sept. 16 (live 8:00-11:00 PM ET/delayed PT) on the CBS Television Network, and available to stream live and on demand on CBS All Access. Photo Credit: Brent Harrington/CBS

Old Dominion is officially the 2020 ACM Awards Group of the Year.

“We miss you,” lead singer Matthew Ramsey shared to fans watching as he accepted the trophy with his bandmates by his side.

He went on to thank the band’s management team, record label and then dedicated the award to their road crew who is “really getting hit hard during these weird times.”

Before leaving the stage, Ramsey also gave a shout out to Old Dominion’s fans and country radio.

Other groups nominated in the category included Lady A, Little Big Town, Midland and The Highwomen.

The 55th Academy of Country Music Awards also featured performances from Jimmie Allen, Kelsea Ballerini, Gabby Barrett, Kane Brown, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Luke Combs, Dan + Shay, Keith featuring P!nk, Florida Georgia Line, Riley Green, Mickey Guyton, Miranda Lambert, Tim McGraw, Maren Morris, Old Dominion, Thomas Rhett featuring Jon Pardi, Blake Shelton with Gwen Stefani, Taylor Swift, Tenille Townes, Carrie Underwood, Morgan Wallen and Trisha Yearwood.

The 2020 ACM Awards took place in Music City for the first time ever. The three-hour show broadcasted from three iconic venues: Grand Ole Opry House, Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium and The Bluebird Cafe.

The reigning ACM Entertainer of the Year and 15-time ACM Award-winner, Urban also hosted the star-studded event, which broadcasted on Wednesday, September 16 (live 8:00-11:00 PM ET/delayed PT) on CBS Television Network, and streamed live and on-demand on CBS All Access.