Reba McEntire Shares New Details About Her Lifestyle Book, ‘Not That Fancy’

“This is just a fun book,” the country music icon shares.


Madeleine O’Connell

| Posted on

April 17, 2023


4:47 pm

Share on:

Reba McEntire – Not That Fancy

Reba McEntire unveiled new details about her upcoming lifestyle book, Not That Fancy: Simple Lessons on Living, Loving, Eating, and Dusting Off Your Boots. In doing so, she teased that it will feature over 50 food and drink recipes from her family traditions and new restaurant in her home state of Oklahoma, as well as a whole lot of true southern charm. 

The country icon revealed further details on her new book during an interview with Carson Daly on TODAY on Monday morning (April 17).

After toasting to the end of her tour with a drink made from one of the book’s charming recipes, the show’s host prompted McEntire to share a bit about what fans can expect from Not That Fancy

“Well, the book is a fun book,” she began. “You know, sometimes you have books, autobiographies, that are really diving into stuff. This is just a fun book. You can look through it. You can read it front to back. It’s got recipes, stories, new pictures people haven’t seen before. Talking about my family, my faith, my friends, and then recipes that are from the restaurant in Atoka, OK called Reba’s Place.”

The foreword for the book was written by fellow Oklahoma native and country music star, Garth Brooks. Daly pointed out that in Brooks’ loving message, he praised McEntire for her work ethic, which she shared comes from “Mom and daddy.”

“Number one, be prepared, be ready, be on time,” McEntire said of her parents’ teachings. “And if you say you’re gonna do something, follow it up. No matter if you don’t wanna do it, or if some better offer comes up, if you say you’re gonna do something, do it. Honesty. And your word means something.”

Not That Fancy is expected to feature a slew of recipes as well as lifestyle tips, and never-before-seen photographs and never-before-told stories from Reba’s personal and professional life. Included in these stories are memories and lessons taken from her parents over the years. 

Published by Harper Celebrate, a gift imprint of publisher Harper Collins, the 288-page book will be available as a hardcover, digital book and audiobook at Barnes & Noble, Target, and many other book retailers. 

The book is available for preorder now and will be released on October 10, 2023. 

Along with the book, arriving October 10, McEntire will also drop an accompanying album also titled NOT THAT FANCY. Joining forces with Grammy Award-winning producer Dave Cobb, McEntire has created a record that includes stripped-down versions of some of her most iconic songs along with a brand new single, “Seven Minutes In Heaven.” The album is set to release Friday, October 6.

“It’s great music along with a fun book,” she told Daly. 

This isn’t the first time the “Fancy” singer has put her author skills to the test. She previously released several books, including Reba: My StoryComfort From A Country Quilt, Reba McEntire – For My Broken Heart and more.

McEntire recently wrapped up the 14-city spring leg of her latest tour, which kicked off on March 9 and featured special guests Terri Clark and The Isaacs. Her final performance on this run was monumental as it marked her first-ever headlining performance at the iconic Madison Square Garden in New York City. She also revealed that she is the third McEntire to come to this historic venue. 

“Grand pap was there in the ‘30s. Daddy was there in the ‘40s. They were roping.”

In honor of this special occasion, she had a full house of family in the audience on April 15. 

“So Allison, Susie, my sisters, my son, Shelby, and my niece, Chism, that was representing the McEntire family there Saturday night,” she shared. 

Between opening her 15,000-square-foot combination restaurant, bar, live music venue, and retail store in Oklahoma, preparing for the release of her new book and new music, finishing up her tour, and appearing as a Mega Mentor on The Voice, McEntire has kept herself busy. 

Next up, she is set to take the stage of CMA Fest in June. She will appear as the Artist of the Day at Fan Fair X on Friday, June 9 and then take to the CMA Close Up Stage to share an up close and personal look into her life and career with fans. 

Not That Fancy Album Cover
Not That Fancy Album Cover

Not That Fancy Album Track List

1.    The Fear of Being Alone
2.    Consider Me Gone
3.    Somebody Should Leave
4.    How Blue 
5.    If You See Him, If You See Her with Brooks & Dunn
6.    Till You Love Me
7.    Seven Minutes In Heaven
8.    The Night The Lights Went Out In Georgia
9.    Does He Love You with Dolly Parton
10.    One Promise Too Late
11.    The Last One To Know
12.    New Fool At An Old Game
13.    I’m A Survivor
14.    Fancy
Share on:

Madeleine O’Connell graduated from North Central College with a bachelors degree in Journalism and Broadcast Communications before deciding to pursue her studies further at DePaul University. There, she earned her masters degree in Digital Communication & Media Arts. O’Connell served as a freelance writer for over two years while also interning with the Academy of Country Music, SiriusXM and Circle Media and assisting with Amazon Music’s Country Heat Weekly podcast. In addition to Country Now, she has been published in American Songwriter, Music Mayhem, and Holler.Country. Madeleine O’Connell is a member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.