WATCH: Country Now Puts Home Free’s American History Knowledge to the Test

All-vocal country group Home Free rang in Independence Day with a brand new album, saluting the red, white and blue. …


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

July 4, 2021


2:13 pm

Share on:

Home Free; Photo by Ford Fairchild

All-vocal country group Home Free rang in Independence Day with a brand new album, saluting the red, white and blue. 

Out now, Land of the Free, features 10 patriotic tunes, including covers of Bruce Springsteen’s “Born in the U.S.A.” and Brooks & Dunn’s “Only In America.” The album also includes a rendition of Mon McLean’s iconic hit, “American Pie,” featuring guest vocals from McLean himself. 

“We are absolutely thrilled to finally have LAND OF THE FREE out in the world,” says the group’s high tenor, Austin Brown. “It’s been a long time coming, and we truly believe in its message. This country is a patchwork of cultures and shared livelihoods. Despite our differences, this nation is such a remarkable place to be, and we are so lucky to call it home.”

To celebrate the release, Country Now put the group’s American history knowledge to the test with a round of American trivia. Click the video above to see which member of Home Free took home the top prize! 

Home Free will embark on their Dive Bar Saints World Tour later this year as well as their much-anticipated Warmest Winter Holiday Tour, beginning December 1. Fans can learn more about upcoming shows by visiting Home Free’s official website

Home Free’s LAND OF THE FREE Track Listing:

1. “Undivided” (Tyler Hubbard, Chris Loocke)
2. “Only in America” (Kix Brooks, Don Cook, Randall Jay Rogers)
3. “God Bless the U.S.A.” feat. Lee Greenwood + The United States Air Force Band (Lee Greenwood)
4. “Brothers in Arms” (Mark Knopfler)
5. “America (My Country, ‘Tis of Thee)”
6. “Travelin’ Soldier” (Bruce Robison)
7. “Land of the Free” (Chris Chatham, Tim Foust)
8. “American Pie” feat. Don McLean (Don McLean)
9. “People” feat. Jeffrey East (Jeffrey East, James Ryan Plappert, Michael White)
10. “Born in the U.S.A.” (Bruce Springsteen)

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for and her work being featured on She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.