WATCH: Randy Travis and Drew Parker Join Forces To Duet a Keith Whitley Classic

Drew Parker, Randy Travis; Photo Provided
Drew Parker, Randy Travis; Photo Provided
Drew Parker, Randy Travis; Photo Provided

Chart-topping country icon Randy Travis and rising singer/songwriter Drew Parker joined forces to record their own version of the Christmas classic, “There’s A New Kid In Town.”

Following last week’s release of the track, the two singers shared the official music video for “There’s A New Kid In Town.”

Written by Keith Whitley, Don Cook and Curly Putman, the video encapsulates the meaning of the holidays with a heartwarming reunion between the pair.

Filmed at Travis’ ranch in the heart of Texas, the video marks a monumental for the Country Music Hall of Fame member, as it is the first music video he has been a part of since his stroke in 2013.

“I hope fans see the true reason for the season in this video. Jesus, our Lord, and togetherness. That’s what it’s all about! Not to mention the fact that Country music is alive and well in this new crop. Drew nails the vocals on this – I’m so glad he went in with Kyle Lehning to record alongside mine from all those years ago,” Randy Travis shared.

“I just remember getting to spend quality time with Randy and his family out on his ranch in Texas. Driving around the property and getting to take in all of God’s creation with one of my heroes. It was a very special day and one I’ll remember for the rest of my life,” Drew Parker added.

Originally released in 1989 and later certified Gold by the RIAA, the release of the track follows the drop of Travis’ remastered Christmas album, An Old Time Christmas (Deluxe Edition). The remastered deluxe version of the album features three never-before-heard tracks.

An Old Time Christmas (Deluxe Edition) Track Listing:
1. Old Time Christmas (2021 Remaster)
2. Winter Wonderland (2021 Remaster)
3. Meet Me Under the Mistletoe (2021 Remaster) 
4. White Christmas Makes Me Blue (2021 Remaster)
5. Santa Claus is Coming to Town (2021 Remaster)
6. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (2021 Remaster)
7. Pretty Paper (2021 Remaster)
8. Oh, What a Silent Night (2021 Remaster)
9. How Do I Wrap My Heart Up for Christmas (2021 Remaster)
10. The Christmas Song (2021 Remaster)
11. Little Toy Trains (From The Vault)
12. There’s a New Kid In Town (From The Vault)
13. White Christmas (From The Vault)

Tags from the story