2020 CMA Awards: Complete Winners List

“Country Music’s Biggest Night” has come and gone and surely left fans with a few memories that will last long…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

November 11, 2020


11:56 pm

Share on:

Eric Church and Maren Morris; Photo Courtesy of CMA

“Country Music’s Biggest Night” has come and gone and surely left fans with a few memories that will last long after the final award was handed out.

The 54th Annual CMA Awards brought members of the country music community together, in the same room, for the first time in months to celebrate the past year in country music.

Eric Church received the night’s top honor, Entertainer of the Year, while Maren Morris was the evening’s biggest winner, taking home three awards for CMA Single, Song and Female Vocalist of the Year. Luke Combs was also a top winner with two awards: CMA Album and Male Vocalist of the Year.

Old Dominion was crowned CMA Vocal Group of the Year, Dan + Shay was named CMA Vocal Duo of the Year and Morgan Wallen took home the CMA New Artist of the Year trophy.

Prior to tonight’s broadcast, Carly Pearce and Lee Brice won CMA Musical Event of the Year, Miranda Lambert won CMA Music Video of the Year, and Jenee Fleenor was named CMA Musician of the Year.  Charley Pride was the recipient of the CMA Willie Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award.

“It was a privilege to bring the Country Music community together tonight,” says Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “We have worked tirelessly over the past few months to develop a safe environment that would allow us to deliver a show our fans have come to expect. We have followed all protocols established by the CDC, local health authorities and creative unions to ensure the safety of our staff, our crew and our artists at every turn. Every single person was tested prior to entering our footprint, with many individuals being tested repeatedly out of an abundance of caution. Our process enabled us to catch any positive test results immediately and before any of those individuals ever stepped foot into the venue. I am grateful for the grace and the patience shown to us during this process and to those individuals that were unable to join us tonight, you were greatly missed and we wish you and your families the very best.”

Trahern added, “I am so proud to be a part of this community. It has been a very difficult year with many of us having suffered tremendous loss. My hope is that with the help of our incredible community of artists, we were able to shine a bit of light into the world through the magic of Country Music.”

See the full list of CMA Awards winners below.

2020 CMA Awards Winners

Entertainer of the Year 

Eric Church – WINNER

Luke Combs

Miranda Lambert

Carrie Underwood

Keith Urban

Single of the Year
Award goes to Artist(s), Producer(s), and Mix Engineer

  • “10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
    Producer: Dan Smyers
    Mix Engineer: Jeff Juliano
  • “Beer Never Broke My Heart” – Luke Combs
    Producer: Scott Moffatt
    Mix Engineer: Jim Cooley
  • “Bluebird” – Miranda Lambert
    Producer: Jay Joyce
    Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce
  • “The Bones” – Maren Morris – WINNER
    Producer: Greg Kurstin
    Mix Engineer: Greg Kurstin
  • “I Hope” – Gabby Barrett
    Producers: Ross Copperman, Zach Kale
    Mix Engineer: Buckley Miller

Album of the Year
Award goes to Artist and Producers

  • Heartache Medication – Jon Pardi
    Producers: Bart Butler, Ryan Gore, Jon Pardi
  • Never Will – Ashley McBryde
    Producers: Jay Joyce, John Peets
  • Old Dominion – Old Dominion
    Producers: Shane McAnally, Old Dominion
  • What You See Is What You Get – Luke Combs – WINNER 
    Producer: Scott Moffatt
  • Wildcard – Miranda Lambert
    Producer: Jay Joyce

Song of the Year
Award goes to Songwriters

  • “Bluebird”
    Songwriters: Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby, Miranda Lambert
  • “The Bones” – WINNER 
    Songwriters: Maren Morris, Jimmy Robbins, Laura Veltz
  • “Even Though I’m Leaving”
    Songwriters: Luke Combs, Wyatt B. Durrette III, Ray Fulcher
  • “I Hope You’re Happy Now”
    Songwriters: Luke Combs, Randy Montana, Carly Pearce, Jonathan Singleton
  • “More Hearts Than Mine”
    Songwriters: Ingrid Andress, Sam Ellis, Derrick Southerland

Female Vocalist of the Year

Miranda Lambert

Ashley McBryde

Maren Morris – WINNER 

Kacey Musgraves

Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year

Eric Church

Luke Combs – WINNER 

Thomas Rhett

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

Vocal Group of the Year

Lady A

Little Big Town


Old Dominion – WINNER 

Rascal Flatts

Vocal Duo of the Year

Brooks & Dunn

Brothers Osborne

Dan + Shay – WINNER 

Florida Georgia Line

Maddie & Tae

Musical Event of the Year 
Award goes to Artists and Producer(s)

  • “10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
    Producer: Dan Smyers
  • “Be A Light” – Thomas Rhett featuring Reba McEntire, Hillary Scott, Chris Tomlin, Keith Urban
    Producer: Dann Huff
  • “The Bones” – Maren Morris with Hozier
    Producer: Greg Kurstin
  • “Fooled Around And Fell In Love” – Miranda Lambert (feat. Maren Morris, Elle King, Ashley McBryde, Tenille Townes & Caylee Hammack)
    Producer: Jay Joyce
  • “I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Carly Pearce and Lee Brice – WINNER 
    Producer: busbee

Musician of the Year

Jenee Fleenor – WINNER 

Paul Franklin

Rob McNelley

Ilya Toshinskiy

Derek Wells

Music Video of the Year
Award goes to Artist(s) and Director

  • “10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
    Director: Patrick Tracy
  • “Bluebird” – Miranda Lambert – WINNER 
    Director: Trey Fanjoy
  • “Homemade” – Jake Owen
    Director: Justin Clough
  • “I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Carly Pearce and Lee Brice
    Director: Sam Siske
  • “Second One To Know” – Chris Stapleton
    Director: David Coleman

New Artist of the Year

Jimmie Allen

Ingrid Andress

Gabby Barrett

Carly Pearce

Morgan Wallen – WINNER 

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for Answers.com and her work being featured on Forbes.com. She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.