Alabama To Be Inducted Into Musicians Hall Of Fame

Members of the band say it’s one of the “greatest honors” they have ever received.


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

July 17, 2019


3:17 pm

Share on:

Photo courtesy Alabama

Country supergroup Alabama was just announced as a 2019 inductee into the Musicians Hall of Fame. Additionally, the band will receive the organization’s first-ever Lifetime Achievement Award.

The members of Alabama, who have notched 43 No.1 singles as a band, were thrilled to hear the news.

“Getting the first Lifetime Achievement Award and going in the Musicians Hall of Fame is very humbling,” lead singer Randy Owen said. “I am thankful to be a musician, a singer, a songwriter and for being able to make a living through touring and recording for the last 50 years.”

His bandmate Teddy Gentry added, “To be in the Musicians Hall of Fame along with so many of my peers is one of the greatest honors we have ever received.”

Alabama’s Jeff Cook, the band’s fiddle and guitar player, was equally humbled saying, “This a great honor. I always thought of myself as a musician first.”

Alabama will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award and officially be inducted into the Musicians Hall of Fame on October 22, 2019 at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center in Nashville. Tickets for the event will be available beginning August 2.

According to a press release additional Musicians Hall of Fame 2019 inductees include Felix Cavaliere, Steve Wariner, The Surfaris (Bob Berryhill, Pat Connolly, Jim Fuller*, Ron Wilson*), Don Everly, The Original Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section (David Briggs, Jerry Carrigan*, Norbert Putnam, Terry Thompson, Earl “Peanutt” Montgomery, Joe South*, Reggie Young*), the Nashville A-Team – The Players (Eddie Bayers, Paul Franklin, John Hobbs, Brent Mason, Michael Rhodes), The Muscle Shoals Horns (Harrison Calloway, Ronnie Eades, Charles Rose, Harvey Thompson), Owen Bradley*, Billy Sherrill and Bob Taylor. *awarded posthumously

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for and her work being featured on She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.