Chris Janson Collaborates With Dolly Parton And Slash On New Song, ’21 Forever’

Janson released his “absolute biggest collaboration to date.”


Madeleine O’Connell

| Posted on

May 10, 2023

Share on:

Chris Janson has unveiled his “biggest collaboration” yet with his new song, “21 Forever.

The multi-platinum singer/songwriter was excited to share that he’s joined forces with country music icon, Dolly Parton, and Slash, the musician who’s best known as the lead guitarist of the hard rock band Guns N’ Roses. 

“I’m so thrilled to announce, that two Global Icons have joined me in song, for my absolute biggest collaboration to date,” Janson shared in a press release. “Dolly and Slash, it doesn’t get any BIGGER than that. I’m incredibly humbled and grateful for these two. Hope you all enjoy ‘21 Forever.’”

Merging rock and roll to country music, “21 Forever,” illustrates the period in life when a person begins to transition from the reckless days of youth to the responsibilities of an adult. Janson had a hand in penning the powerful tune alongside Tommy Cecil and Tom Douglas. 

Throughout the song, the “Fix A Drink” singer harmonizes effortlessly with Parton while Slash’s outstanding electric guitar riffs soar throughout the melody as they each reflect on this developmental stage and depict the beauty in growing older. 

Janson and the two Rock N’ Roll Hall of Fame members can be heard in the chorus delivering the lyrics, “There’s a time for young and dumb / For lovers, lines and songs / You go to bed in the morning / After you stumble in at dawn / Had to get my act together / Learn to appreciate stormy weather / You can’t be 21 forever.”

YouTube video

“21 Forever” will serve as the focus track to Janson’s upcoming album, The Outlaw Side of Me, which is slated to drop June 16 via Big Machine Label Group/Harpeth 60 Records. This project will lead with his BMLG debut, “All I Need Is You,” which is currently impacting Country radio and making its way up the charts.

Speaking with Country Now on the romantic song that has become his most-added radio hit to date, Janson shared, “The whole overview of the song is, all I need is you, my wife. Kelly’s my best friend, of course, and the person I love most in this world. So, you know, it was a really a love song about her in full.”

This song joins his slew of self-penned No. 1’s including “Fix A Drink,” “Good Vibes,” and the triple platinum “Buy Me A Boat.”

Janson also recently revealed the title, cover and track list for his new album. He shared a glimpse of what fans can expect in a preview clip that was posted to social media using the title track as the soundtrack. Produced by Julian Raymond the 14 tracks that make up the collection were carefully selected to showcase a full spectrum look at nearly every side of the dynamic country star, including the outlaw, the rowdy beer drinker, the romantic and the full-throttle performer. 

“From the minute I started this album, ’til the minute we finished, I enjoyed every second,” Janson shared. “This album encompasses all sides of me! The lover, the party guy, the conservationist, the family man and of course, the rowdy side. I love the songs, the imaging and had a good time making the music. I hope you all enjoy The Outlaw Side of Me – my favorite album, to date.”

Chris Janson is currently in the midst of his headlining 2023 tour, which kicked off in Bismarck, ND on January 13. The singer/songwriter has continued with shows across North America in cities such as Sioux, Falls, SD, St. Louis, MO, Pueblo, CO, Clive, IA and more with special guests Tim Montana and Shane Profit. 

This summer, he will appear at a number of festivals including Georgia Country Jam, Poultry Festival, Rogue Music Festi, Country On The Coast, Wild West Festival, and more.  

Janson’s next show will take place on May 12 in Rama, Canada. 

Chris Janson - The Outlaw Side Of Me
Chris Janson – The Outlaw Side Of Me

The Outlaw Side of Me Track List:
1. “Rowdy Gentle Man” | Chris Janson, Tommy Cecil
2. “Honkytonk Minute” | Chris Janson, Matt Rogers, Ben Stennis
3. “Outlaw Side of Me” | Chris Janson, Chris DeStefano, Lee Miller
4. “All I Need Is You” | Chris Janson, Brad Clawson, Ashley Gorley, Mitch Oglesby
5. “Hank The Hell Out of The Honkytonk” (featuring Brantley Gilbert) | Chris Janson, Brinley Addington, Tommy Cecil, Mitch Oglesby
6. “Dirt In My Life” | Chris Janson, Tommy Cecil, Dallas Davidson
7. “Tap That” | Chris Janson, Preston Brust, Brandon Kinney, Chris Lucas
8. “Good Folks Goin’ To Work” | Chris Janson, Tommy Cecil, Tom Douglas
9. “GOAT” | Chris Janson, Tommy Cecil
10. “Get It Right” | Chris Janson, Brandon Kinney, Brad Warren, Brett Warren
11. “Every Day of the Week” (featuring Darius Rucker) | Chris Janson, Bob DiPiero, David Lee Murphy
12. “21 Forever” (featuring Dolly Parton and Slash) | Chris Janson, Tommy Cecil, Tom Douglas
13. “Days in the Field” | Chris Janson
14. “21 Forever” (Original Version featuring Slash) | Chris Janson, Tommy Cecil, Tom Douglas

Share on:

Madeleine O’Connell graduated from North Central College with a bachelors degree in Journalism and Broadcast Communications before deciding to pursue her studies further at DePaul University. There, she earned her masters degree in Digital Communication & Media Arts. O’Connell served as a freelance writer for over two years while also interning with the Academy of Country Music, SiriusXM and Circle Media and assisting with Amazon Music’s Country Heat Weekly podcast. In addition to Country Now, she has been published in American Songwriter, Music Mayhem, and Holler.Country. Madeleine O’Connell is a member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.