Cody Johnson Wins First-Ever CMA Award Ahead Of 2022 Broadcast

Cody Johnson won his first-ever CMA Award on Wednesday morning when his “‘Til You Can’t” music video was crowned Music…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

November 9, 2022

Share on:

Cody Johnson; Photo by Erika Goldring, Getty Images

Cody Johnson won his first-ever CMA Award on Wednesday morning when his “‘Til You Can’t” music video was crowned Music Video of the Year ahead of the 56th Annual CMA Awards. 

The news was announced on Wednesday morning during ABC’s Good Morning America, ahead of the live broadcast of the 2022 CMA Awards.

Country superstar Keith Urban performed live from downtown Nashville during the special GMA broadcast.

The Music Video of the Year trophy is awarded to the artist, Johnson, as well as director, Dustin Haney. 

Produced by Trent Willmon and co-written by Ben Stennis and Matthew J. Rogers, “‘Til You Can’t” was the lead single on Johnson’s latest project, Human: The Double Album. The song became Johnson’s first No.1 and first multi-week No.1 when it reached the top of the charts earlier this year. 

“I chose to record ‘Til You Can’t’ first because of the positivity in the message of the song. In our world today, we could use more positivity,” Johnson previously shared. “Secondly, because of how dynamic the melody was; I took it and ran with it.”

Cody Johnson; Photo by Brandon Todd 1
Cody Johnson; Photo by Brandon Todd

‘Til You Can’t” is also nominated for CMA Single of the Year at the coveted awards show. While Johnson is up for Male Vocalist of the Year and New Artist of the Year.  

The Texas native will take the CMA Awards stage at Bridgestone Arena in Music City to perform the chart-topping hit.

Also nominated in the CMA Music Video of the Year category were “I Bet You Think About Me” (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault) – Taylor Swift (featuring Chris Stapleton), “Longneck Way To Go” – Midland (featuring Jon Pardi), “Never Say Never” – Cole Swindell (with Lainey Wilson), and “Never Wanted To Be That Girl” – Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde. 

During GMA, it was also revealed that Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde’s “Never Wanted To Be That Girl” claimed the title of Musical Event of the Year.  

Winners in the remaining categories will be revealed tonight during the 56th Annual CMA Awards, broadcasting LIVE from Nashville on Wednesday, November 9 (8-11 pm EST) on ABC.

“Country Music’s Biggest Night” will be co-hosted by two-time CMA Entertainer Of The Year Luke Bryan and NFL superstar Peyton Manning.

Artists taking the CMA Awards stage include Jimmie Allen, Kelsea Ballerini, Dierks Bentley, Brothers Osborne, Bryan, Brandy Clark, Kelly Clarkson, Luke Combs, Caylee Hammack, HARDY, Cody Johnson, Elle King, Marcus King, Miranda Lambert, Patty Loveless, Ashley McBryde, Reba McEntire, John Osborne, Jon Pardi, Carly Pearce, Katy Perry, Pillbox Patti, Chris Stapleton, Cole Swindell, The Black Keys, The War and Treaty, Thomas Rhett, Carrie Underwood, Morgan Wallen, Lainey Wilson, and Zac Brown Band.  

Tonight’s CMA Awards presenters include Mookie Betts, BRELAND, Jessica Chastain, Jordan Davis, Sarah Drew, Cole Hauser, Tyler Hubbard, Wynonna Judd, Lady A, Rex Linn, Little Big Town, Parker McCollum, Reba McEntire, Ben and Erin Napier, Jeannie Seely, Michael Shannon, and Lainey Wilson.

Share on:

Tags from this story:

More from Lauren Jo Black

More posts from Lauren Jo Black ›

You may also like