Conner Smith Releases Long-Awaited Debut Album, ‘Smoky Mountains,’ Celebrates With Sold-Out Hometown Concert

“This album feels like just the beginning,” the rising star admits.


Madeleine O’Connell

| Posted on

January 29, 2024

Share on:

Conner Smith unveiled his long-awaited debut album, Smoky Mountains, on Friday (Jan. 26) via The Valory Music Co. 

The full-length project draws straight from the singer/songwriter’s all-natural Tennessee roots while honoring the new wave of country music with electrifying instrumentals and poignant lyrics. Smith is responsible for penning all but one of the 12 tracks, meaning this collection offers a deeply personal look into his journey through a blend of classic and traditional stylings that act as a reflection of himself.

“My whole life has been centered around Country music and this dream,” shared Smith. “I love storytelling and it was important to me that every song on this record had its own place. I wanted each song to matter and tell a different side of my story and I think we accomplished that. This album feels like just the beginning.”

Conner Smith - Smoky Mountains
Conner Smith – Smoky Mountains

Smoky Mountains features a slew of previous releases from Smith that quickly rose to fan favorites such as GOLD-certified “Take It Slow,” viral hit “I Hate Alabama,” Top-10-bound single “Creek Will Rise” and the album’s heartbeat “Meanwhile In Carolina.”

Conner Smith Joins Forces With Hailey Whitters For “Roulette On The Heart”

One of the album’s brand new tracks that has already been dubbed a “stand-out” is “Roulette on the Heart” featuring Hailey Whitters. Co-written by Smith with Jessi Alexander, Chase McGill, and Mark Trussell, the tune finds the Tennessee native and the Iowa native illustrating the risks of love. While each step is a gamble, they seem to be all-in on playing this game of the heart that can only end “one of two ways.”

Hailey Whitters, Conner Smith; Photo by Cooper Smith
Hailey Whitters, Conner Smith; Photo by Cooper Smith

The pair of thriving singer/songwriters also came together to film a romance-filled music video directed by Conner’s brother and creative director Cooper Smith.

“‘Roulette On The Heart’ is one of my favorite songs on the record,” Smith crooned. “Hailey Whitters is my dream duet partner and I feel honored that she wanted to be part of this special song.”


YouTube video

Smoky Mountains Track List:

1. “Smoky Mountains” | Written by Conner Smith, Zach Crowell

2. “Creek Will Rise” | Written by Conner Smith, Chris LaCorte, Chase McGill, Parker Welling 

3. “Roulette On The Heart (featuring Hailey Whitters)” | Written by Conner Smith, Jessi Alexander, Chase McGill, Mark Trussell

4. “Heatin’ Up” | Written by Conner Smith, Chase McGill, Daniel Ross

5. “Baby, I” | Written by Conner Smith, Devin Dawson, Mark Trussell, Parker Welling

6. “Meanwhile In Carolina” | Written by Conner Smith, Blake Pendergrass

7. “Boots In The Bleachers” | Written by Conner Smith, Ben Hayslip, Jordan Walker

8. “Take It Slow” | Written by Conner Smith, Ryan Hurd, Mark Trussell 

9. “Trouble” | Written by Conner Smith, Zach Crowell, Jerry Flowers, Chase McGill, Mark Trussell

10. “I Hate Alabama” | Written by Nick Columbia, Drew Green, Hunter Phelps, Lee Starr 

11. “Regret In The Morning” | Written by Conner Smith, Hunter Phelps, Daniel Ross

12. “God Moments” | Written by Conner Smith, Zach Crowell, Devin Dawson, Blake Pendergrass

Conner Smith; Photo by Cooper Smith
Conner Smith; Photo by Cooper Smith

Celebrating The Album Release With A Sold-Out Hometown Show

The Nashville-raised artist kicked off his release week with a sold-out show at Nashville’s Brooklyn Bowl on Friday (Jan. 26). This marked an incredibly sentimental night for the rising star as the celebrations took place right in his hometown, where all his dreams first started. He took to social media to share a carousel of photos from the evening, including snapshots of the packed-out crowd and his loved ones who were on site to show their support.

His caption read, “If I showed my younger self these pictures from last night, and told him about his debut album and selling out his hometown. He’d be pretty proud. Thank you so much Nashville. This city has loved me well. I couldn’t be more proud to call it home.”

Next, Conner Smith will head to New York City on Wednesday (Jan. 31) to celebrate his new album on NBC’s TODAY with Hoda & Jenna with a performance of his “Top-10-Bound Single, ”“Creek Will Rise.” 

His current headline tour of the same name will continue on February 13 in Toronto, ON and run through March 15. Joining Smith on select dates of the tour are emerging artists Lauren Watkins and Eli Winders. 

Conner Smith; Photo by Cooper Smith
Conner Smith; Photo by Cooper Smith

Upcoming Creek Will Rise Tour Dates:

February 13 | Toronto, ON – Horseshoe Tavern

February 22 | Omaha, NE – Barnato#

February 23 | West Peoria, IL – Crusens Farmington Road#

February 24 | Bloomington, IN – Bluebird#

March 15 | North Myrtle Beach, SC – House of Blues

Share on:

Madeleine O’Connell graduated from North Central College with a bachelors degree in Journalism and Broadcast Communications before deciding to pursue her studies further at DePaul University. There, she earned her masters degree in Digital Communication & Media Arts. O’Connell served as a freelance writer for over two years while also interning with the Academy of Country Music, SiriusXM and Circle Media and assisting with Amazon Music’s Country Heat Weekly podcast. In addition to Country Now, she has been published in American Songwriter, Music Mayhem, and Holler.Country. Madeleine O’Connell is a member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.