Dierks Bentley and Connie Smith Among Newest Music City Walk of Fame Inductees

The Music City Walk of Fame will welcome four inductees this spring when Dierks Bentley, Keb’ Mo’, Bobby Bare, and…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

January 20, 2022


8:50 am

Share on:

Dierks Bentley; Photo Courtesy ABC

The Music City Walk of Fame will welcome four inductees this spring when Dierks Bentley, Keb’ Mo’, Bobby Bare, and Connie Smith are honored with the 90th, 91st, 92nd, and 93rd stars on the Music City Walk of Fame. 

The Nashville Convention & Visitors Corp announced the news earlier this week, revealing that the induction ceremony will take place at 2 pm on April 5, 2022 at Music City Walk of Fame Park. 

The ceremony will be the first to take place in more than two years due to the ongoing pandemic. 

“We are proud to bring back a Music City Walk of Fame ceremony with such a distinguished and diverse group of inductees who span various genres and eras of music,” said Ed Hardy, a distinguished Music Row executive and chairman of Music City Inc., the NCVC foundation that oversees the Music City Walk of Fame. “The individuals in the Walk of Fame remind us of Nashville’s rich history as Music City, and we congratulate the newest four members.”

The induction ceremony will include appearances by Bentley, Keb’ Mo’, Bare, and Smith as they unveil their stars embedded in the walkway at Music City Walk of Fame Park in SoBro. 

Bentley is a Grand Ole Opry member with 20 No. One hits that has earned multiple awards from the ACMs, CMAs, and more while also collecting 14 GRAMMY nominations. 

Keb’ Mo’has won five GRAMMY Awards including the 2019 release, Oklahoma, for Best Americana Album. He will release a new album Good To Be on January 21, 2022 via Rounder Records. He has also appeared in films and TV, as well as Visit Music City’s recent commercial: While You’ve Been Away, We’ve Been Creating.

Bare has scored nearly five dozen top 40 hits from 1962 to 1983. He won a GRAMMY in 1964 for “Detroit City.” 

Smith was inducted into the Grand Ole Opry in 1965 and was later dubbed by Roy Acuff as the “Sweetheart of the Grand Ole Opry.” Her “Once a Day” became the first-ever debut single by a female country act to reach No. 1, and she has been nominated for 11 GRAMMY Awards.

The Music City Walk of Fame was created in 2006 on Nashville’s Music Mile, a roughly one-mile stretch that connects downtown to Music Row. Permanent sidewalk medallions with the names of inductees are displayed in a star design.

Inductees are recognized for their significant contributions to preserving the musical heritage of Nashville and for contributing to the world through song.

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for Answers.com and her work being featured on Forbes.com. She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.