Dierks Bentley, Chris Janson Lead Kris Kristofferson Tribute at 2019 CMA Awards

Dierks Bentley; Photo by Andrew Wendowski
Dierks Bentley; Photo by Andrew Wendowski
Dierks Bentley; Photo by Andrew Wendowski

The Country Music Association just Kris Kristofferson as the 2019 Willie Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award recipient and revealed plans to honor him with an all-star tribute at the upcoming CMA Awards.

Country superstar Dierks Bentley will be joined by Sheryl Crow, Chris Janson and Brothers Osborne’s John Osborne to tribute Kristofferson with a performance of his iconic song “Me and Bobby McGee.”

For Janson, the chance to honor a living legend is a dream come true.

“Kris Kristofferson is one of my favorite artists of all time,” shares Janson. “I’m very humbled to be a part of an incredible tribute to a legend who has done so much for country music. I couldn’t imagine being part of anything cooler than this at the CMA awards.”

According to a press release, the Willie Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an artist who has “attained the highest degree of recognition in Country Music.” Previous recipients of the award include Willie Nelson (2012), Kenny Rogers (2013), Johnny Cash (2015), and Dolly Parton (2016).

“Kris is a living legend whose impact on our genre has been monumental,” says Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “He is the definition of an icon and someone our community holds with such high regard. I’m thrilled our Board selected Kris this year for one of CMA’s highest accolades. Though he won’t be joining us at the CMA Awards, I hope our tribute performance brings a big smile to his face.”

The 53rd Annual CMA Awards, hosted by superstar Carrie Underwood with special guest hosts Reba McEntire and Dolly Parton, will air live from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena on Wednesday, Nov. 13 at 8/7c on ABC.