Dolly Parton Hopes Her Rock Song, ‘World On Fire,’ Will Inspire People To ‘Make A Change For The Better’

Dolly Parton is giving fans a taste of her forthcoming 30-track rock album, Rockstar, with the release of her new…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

May 11, 2023


4:02 pm

Share on:

Dolly Parton World On Fire Single Art; Photo Provided

Dolly Parton is giving fans a taste of her forthcoming 30-track rock album, Rockstar, with the release of her new song “World On Fire.” 

On Thursday (May 11), the country music icon, who was recently inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, released her first-ever rock n’ roll single.

“World On Fire” finds Parton expressing her frustrations over the current state of the world while demanding change, a message that the 77-year-old singer/songwriter says the world desperately needs to hear.

“Now, I ain’t one for speakin’ out much / But that don’t mean I don’t stay in touch / Everybody’s trippin’ over this or that / What we gonna do when we all fall flat?” Parton sings on the chorus.

“This is a song I felt very inspired to write,” Parton shared. ”I think it speaks about everything and to everyone this day and time. I hope it is something that will touch you and maybe touch enough people to want to make a change for the better.”

During a recent interview with Good Morning America (GMA), Parton explained that the new song is “kinda fitting to the times.”


YouTube video

“It’s really kinda about the times and how we can do a little better if we try to heal the divide and just get along a little better,” she continued.

She went on to share that the tune has “a great message to it” and that it is a “good and solid rock anthem.”

Solely penned by Parton, “World On Fire” serves as the lead single to Parton’s first-ever rock album, Rockstar

Dolly Parton 'Rockstar' Album Art
Dolly Parton ‘Rockstar’ Album Art

“I’m so excited to finally present my first Rock and Roll album Rockstar!” Parton said. ”I am very honored and privileged to have worked with some of the greatest iconic singers and musicians of all time and to be able to sing all the iconic songs throughout the album was a joy beyond measure. I hope everybody enjoys the album as much as I’ve enjoyed putting it together!”

Arriving on November 17 via Butterfly Records in partnership with Big Machine Label Group, Rockstar will feature 30 tracks, including nine Dolly originals and 21 covers of some of the most iconic rock hits of all time.

“We’ve got a lot of wonderful, great celebrities — a lot of the older rock artists — in addition to all these iconic, wonderful songs,” she previously told GMA of the project.

Dolly Parton; Photo Provided
Dolly Parton; Photo Provided

The star-studded project will feature collaborations with more than two dozen musical acts including Richie Sambora, Sting, Steve Perry, Ann Wilson, John Fogerty, Kid Rock, Steven Tyler, Warren Hayes, Stevie Nicks, Joan Jett & The Blackhearts, Chris Stapleton, Miley Cyrus, P!nk, Brandi Carlile, Elton John, Melissa Etheridge, Lizzo, Judas Priest’s Rob Halford, Nikki Sixx, John 5, Linda Perry, and more.

Rockstar will be available as a four-LP set, 2 CD set, digital download and on all streaming platforms. Fans can preorder and pre-save Dolly Parton’s Rockstar HERE.

The rock n’ roll project was inspired by Parton’s recent Rock & Roll Hall of Fame induction. 

YouTube video

Dolly Parton Rockstar Track List

1. Rockstar (special guest Richie Sambora)

2. World on Fire

3. Every Breath You Take (feat. Sting)

4. Open Arms (feat. Steve Perry)

5. Magic Man (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)

6. Long As I Can See The Light (feat. John Fogerty)

7. Either Or (feat. Kid Rock)

8. I Want You Back (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)

9. What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)

10. Purple Rain

11. Baby, I Love Your Way (feat. Peter Frampton)

12. I Hate Myself For Loving You (feat. Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)

13. Night Moves (feat. Chris Stapleton)

14. Wrecking Ball (feat. Miley Cyrus)

15. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (feat. P!nk & Brandi Carlile)

16. Keep On Loving You (feat. Kevin Cronin)

17. Heart Of Glass (feat. Debbie Harry)

18. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (feat. Elton John)

19. Tried To Rock And Roll Me (feat. Melissa Etheridge)

20. Stairway To Heaven (feat. Lizzo & Sasha Flute)

21. We Are The Champions

22. Bygones (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)

23. My Blue Tears (feat. Simon Le Bon)

24. What’s Up? (feat. Linda Perry)

25. You’re No Good (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)

26. Heartbreaker (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)

27. Bittersweet (feat. Michael McDonald)

28. I Dreamed About Elvis (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guest The Jordanaires)

29. Let It Be (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)

30. Free Bird (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and The Artimus Pyle Band)

Dolly Parton will deliver the world premiere of the track at the 2023 ACM Awards.

“At the end of the show I am going to get to debut the first single off of my rock album,” Parton told GMA.

Garth Brooks, Dolly Parton; Photo by Art Streiber
Garth Brooks, Dolly Parton; Photo by Art Streiber

Parton will also co-host the 58th Academy of Country Music Awards alongside Garth Brooks.  

“I am thrilled to return to host the ACM Awards, this time with my friend Garth,” Parton shared. “While I’ve had the pleasure of spending time with him throughout the years, I can’t believe we’ve never had the chance to work together.”

Taking place on Thursday, May 11, “Country Music’s Party of the Year” will stream live exclusively on Prime Video from Ford Center at The Star in Frisco, Texas at 7/6c.

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for and her work being featured on She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.