Jason Aldean Unveils Track Listing For New Album, ‘9’

As fans anticipate the November 22 release of Jason Aldean’s new album, 9, the superstar is sharing more details about…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

September 27, 2019

Share on:

Jason Aldean; Photo by Joseph Llanes

As fans anticipate the November 22 release of Jason Aldean’s new album, 9, the superstar is sharing more details about his upcoming project.

Described as a “modern album with an old-school soul,” Aldean’s ninth studio release will include a whopping 16 tracks.

“People buy albums with eight songs for 10 bucks now, but with 9 it’s like you’re getting two whole albums at once,” Aldean said. “I want fans to feel like they’re getting more than they bargained for and I want it to be something they listen to from top to bottom, and never hit skip…or thumbs down or whatever.”

The record finds the Georgia native once again teaming up with songwriters such as Neil Thrasher, Josh Thompson, Brantley Gilbert and Florida Georgia Line’s Tyler Hubbard. The superstar also reunites with his longtime producer, Michael Knox, on the project.

The 16-song track list includes a number of drinking songs, “Came Here To Drink,” “Tattoos and Tequila” and “Came Here To Drink” (just to name a few), but Aldean insists they aren’t your typical boozy tracks.

“I don’t know. Maybe I’m just drawn to drinking tunes,” Aldean shared. “They just go together with country music and it’s hard to pass them up. But it’s not the ‘Hicktown’ type stuff with keg stands, it’s more like sitting at the bar and doing some thinking. It’s all coming from a more mature standpoint.”

Fans who pre-order the album now will have access to five tracks, including “Dirt We Were Raised On” and Aldean’s latest single, “We Back.”

Jason Aldean will celebrate the release of his new album with a brand new tour. Launching January 30, 2020, the We Back Tour will make stops in 20 cities around the U.S. through March. Joining the superstar on his upcoming tour will be Morgan Wallen, Riley Green and Dee Jay Silver.

9 will be available everywhere November 22.

9 Track Listing:

1. “Tattoos and Tequila”
(Michael Dulaney, Neil Thrasher)

2. “Blame It On You”
(Kurt Allison, John Edwards, Tully Kennedy, Michael Tyler, Brian White)

3. “Champagne Town”
(Matt Dragstrem, Josh Thompson)

4. “Some Things You Don’t Forget”
(Nick Brophy, Michael Dulaney, Jennifer Hanson, Neil Thrasher)

5. “Got What I Got”
(Thomas Archer, Alex Palmer, Michael Tyler)

6. “Keeping It Small Town”
(Jaron Boyer, Ben Hayslip, Morgan Wallen)

7. “Camouflage Hat”
(Ben Hayslip, Jameson Rodgers, Josh Thompson)

8. “Came Here to Drink”
(Jaron Boyer, Alex Palmer, Michael Tyler)

9. “We Back”
(Tyler Hubbard, Jordan Schmidt, Brad Warren, Brett Warren)

10. “Dirt We Were Raised On”
(Rhett Akins, Jaron Boyer, Josh Thompson)

11. “I Don’t Drink Anymore”
(Kelly Lovelace, CJ Solar, Neil Thrasher)

12. “Cowboy Killer”
(Jaron Boyer, Josh Hoge, Michael Tyler)

13. “One for the Road”
(Lynn Hutton, Brandon Kinney, Josh Thompson)

14. “Talk About Georgia”
(Kurt Allison, Tully Kennedy, Michael Tyler)

15. “The Same Way”
(Brock Berryhill, Brantley Gilbert, Cole Taylor)

16. “She Likes It”
(Jaron Boyer, Ben Stennis, Michael Tyler)

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for Answers.com and her work being featured on Forbes.com. She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.