Jon Langston Unveils Plans To Release His Highly-Anticipated Debut Album, ‘Heart On Ice’

“This album tells the story of my life the past 10 years,” Langston explains.


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

July 28, 2023

Share on:

Jon Langston; Photo by Eric Ryan Anderson

Jon Langston hosted a live stream on Thursday evening to share the “biggest announcement” of his career thus far: the release of his long-awaited debut album, Heart On Ice

The 32 Bridge Entertainment / EMI Records Nashville recording artist is set to release the 14-track project on September 8. 

Available for pre-order now, the album is destined to take Langston’s career to the next level through its personal and introspective tracks.   

The Georgia native shared his excitement directly with fans during the special live stream, which aired across his social media channels as well as on Country Now’s Facebook and YouTube. 

“I’ve been working on this project for a long, long time, and I’m finally at a place in my career as a human being, a growing, learning, going through life, man. It’s just that it’s been a journey and I just want to share that with y’all in this album,” he explained. 

The title track dropped just hours after Langston’s announcement and Langston says he can’t wait for fans to have a listen. 


YouTube video

“Finally. It’s time. My debut album. This album tells the story of my life the past 10 years. What I’ve been going through, and how I’ve grown in my life. The title track ‘Heart On Ice’ was the missing puzzle piece to this album and was the perfect song to kick it off,” he says of the Nick Columbia, Jordan Gray, Jake Mitchell, and Hunter Phelps-penned track. “I am so proud of this album and can’t wait for everyone to hear it.”

Langston co-wrote 11 of the album’s 14 tracks, while production was provided by Jody Stevens, Brad Wagner, and Jacob Rice.  

Highlights of the album include “I Ain’t Country,” featuring Langston’s friend and fellow Georgia native, Travis Denning, the emotional “Granddaddy’s Watch,” which draws inspiration from Langston’s grandfather, and “May Magnolia,” a song written for his daughter.

“I wrote this song for my little girl. She’s the reason why I put my ‘Heart on Ice,’ the reason why I’ve changed so much, the reason why I’m striving to be better every day. And this song, we planted a magnolia tree in the yard when she was born. And this is what the song’s about,” he explained.  

As the anticipation for the album release continues to build, Jon Langston will return to the road with shows throughout the summer and fall. In addition to performing a slew of headlining dates, Langston is also set to join Luke Bryan on select dates of the Country On Tour. A complete list of his upcoming tour dates can be found HERE.  

Jon Langston - Heart On Ice
Jon Langston – Heart On Ice

Jon Langston’s Heart On Ice Track List: 

1.  “Heart On Ice” (Nick Columbia, Jordan Gray, Jake Mitchell, Hunter Phelps)

2.  “Beer In A Bar” (Jon Langston, Sam Carter, Jody Stevens, Jordan Walker)

3.  “I ain’t Country” (Feat. Travis Denning) (Jon Langston, Brad Clawson, Jordan Rager, Brad Wagner)*

4.  “Whiskey Does” (Jon Langston, Jordan Gray, Cole Taylor, Brad Wagner)*

5.  “Where’s That Girl” (Jessi Alexander, Jordan Gray, Ben Hayslip)

6.  “Never Left Me” (Josh Dorr, Jordan Gray, Nate Jones)

7.  “Dirt Roads & Diamonds” (Jon Langston, Brad Clawson, Jordan Rager, Brad Wagner)**

8.  “Granddaddy’s Watch” (Jon Langston, Jeb Gipson, Lynn Hutton)

9.  “Day In The 90’s” (Jon Langston, Chris Miller, Jody Stevens, Jordan Walker)

10. “Ain’t No Cowboy” (Jon Langston, Jordan Gray, Brad Wagner)**

11. “Better Off” (Jon Langston, Jordan Gray, Nate Jones)*

12. “If You Ever Leave Atlanta” (Jon Langston, Brent Anderson, Lynn Hutton)***

13. “Wrong Side Of The Bottle” (Jon Langston, Benjy Davis, Jody Stevens, Jordan Walker)***

14. “May Magnolia” (Jon Langston, Jordan Fletcher, Austin Nivarel)

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for and her work being featured on She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.