Lady A To Release New Seven-Song Collection, ‘What A Song Can Do’

Just weeks ahead of the launch of their much-anticipated What A Song Can Do Tour, Lady A unveiled plans to…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

June 9, 2021


11:28 am

Share on:

Lady A; Photo Courtesy of BMLG Records

Just weeks ahead of the launch of their much-anticipated What A Song Can Do Tour, Lady A unveiled plans to release a brand new, seven-song collection of music. 

Out June 25, What A Song Can Do (Chapter One) includes seven tracks, each of which was co-written by a least one member of the GRAMMY-winning trio. 

The project was produced by Dann Huff and was born after Lady A’s Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley and Hillary Scott spent the past year in “rediscovery mode,” making a point to return to the band’s “original intention” with a collection of music that blends country, rock and pop. According to a press release, the songs were not born out of the struggles of 2020, but created alongside them. 

“There’s an interdependence that we have with each other, and music is at the center of that to me,” Scott said in a statement. “We are all living in the now together…we’re all a work in progress, and that is what we wanted to share with these songs on the first chapter.”

What A Song Can Do (Chapter One) will be available for pre-order beginning Friday, June 11. 

The Grand Ole Opry members will bring the new music on the road with the launch of their new tour on July 29 in Uncasville, CT. The 34-city trek will feature Lady A alongside Carly Pearce, Niko Moon and Tenille Arts.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Lady A (@ladya)


1. “Talk Of This Town” | Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott, Nicolle Galyon, Jordan Reynolds
2. “What A Song Can Do” | Charles Kelley, Sam Ellis, Ryan Hurd, Laura Veltz
3. “Like A Lady” | Hillary Scott, Dave Barnes, Michelle Buzz, Martin Johnson, Brandon Paddock
4. “Things He Handed Down” | Charles Kelley, Julian Bunetta, Jesse Frasure, Thomas Rhett
5. “Fire” | Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott, Justin Ebach
6. “Chance Of Rain” | Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Topher Brown, Justin Ebach
7. “Worship What I Hate” | Dave Haywood, Hillary Scott, Natalie Hemby, Amy Wadge

YouTube video
Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for and her work being featured on She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.