Lainey Wilson Releases Nostalgic ‘Watermelon Moonshine’ From Just-Announced New Album, ‘Bell Bottom Country’

Lainey Wilson is giving fans another taste of what’s to come on her just-announced sophomore album, Bell Bottom Country, with…


Country Now Staff

| Posted on

August 12, 2022

Share on:

Lainey WIlson; Photo by Alysse Gafkjen

Lainey Wilson is giving fans another taste of what’s to come on her just-announced sophomore album, Bell Bottom Country, with the release of her new song, “Watermelon Moonshine.”

Co-written by Wilson alongside Jordan Schmidt and Josh Kear, “Watermelon Moonshine” is a nostalgic ballad that finds the reigning ACM New Female Artist Of The Year reflecting on young love.

“Drinkin’ watermelon moonshine / Cut the burn with a little lime / Parkin’ back in them kudzu vines / I was his and every bit of that boy was mine / Too young to know what love was / But we werе learnin’ on a sweet buzz / There’s never nothin’ like the first time / And mine’s always gonna taste like / Watermelon moonshine,” Wilson sings on the track’s chorus.

Produced by Jay Joyce, “Watermelon Moonshine” follows Wilson’s latest single “Heart Like A Truck,” which is currently climbing through the Top 40 on Country radio.

Arriving on October 28 via BBR Music Group/Broken Bow Records, Bell Bottom Country will feature 14 tracks, including her latest single “Heart Like A Truck” and the just-released tune, “Watermelon Moonshine.” 

The project will also feature a tribute to her “Deddy” and a cover of 4 Non Blondes classic hit “What’s Up (What’s Going On).” Wilson co-wrote every song on the album except for the 4 Non Blondes cover. See the album’s full track list below.

Lainey Wilson; Photo by Andrew Wendowski
Lainey Wilson; Photo by Andrew Wendowski

“I’ve lived quite a bit of life the past few years, and I have a lot more to say,” Wilson shared of the new album. “Sure, I love a good pair of bell bottoms, but Bell Bottom Country to me has always been about the flare and what makes someone unique — I have really embraced mine, and I hope y’all can hear that across this project.”

Bell Bottom Country is derived from the moniker folks use to describe Wilson’s unique sound, style and aesthetic — it’s Country, but with a flare.

Bell Bottom Country will allow Wilson’s authenticity to vibrantly shine through the vulnerable and empowering lyrics. The album, which will blend the elements of ‘70s Rock, Funk and Soul while remaining true to her Country roots, will also display her growth as an artist and songwriter.

The iHeartRadio Music Awards’ Best New Country Artist first revealed the album art for the new project on the Paramount billboard in New York City’s Times Square.

Lainey Wilson - Bell Bottom Country
Lainey Wilson – Bell Bottom Country

Bell Bottom Country Track Listing

1. “Hillbilly Hippie” (Lainey Wilson, Terri Jo Box, Jeremy Bussey)

2. “Road Runner” (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson)

3. “Watermelon Moonshine” (Lainey Wilson, Jordan Schmidt, Josh Kear)

4. “Grease” (Lainey Wilson, Jessi Alexander, Andrew Petroff)

5. “Weak-End” (Lainey Wilson, Nicolette Hayford, Faren Rachels)

6. “Me, You, and Jesus” (Lainey Wilson, Emily Weisband, Dallas Wilson)

7. “Hold My Halo” (Lainey Wilson, Derek George, Monty Criswell, Lynn Hutton)

8. “Heart Like A Truck” (Lainey Wilson, Dallas Wilson, Trannie Anderson)

9. “Atta Girl” (Lainey Wilson, Dallas Wilson, Brett Tyler)

10. This One’s Gonna Cost Me” (Lainey Wilson, Nicolette Hayford, Faren Rachels)

11. “Those Boots (Deddy’s Song)” (Lainey Wilson, Terri Jo Box, Trent Tomlinson)

12. “Live Off” (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson, Adam Doleac)

13. “Wildflowers and Wild Horses” (Lainey Wilson, Trannie Anderson, Paul Sikes)

14. “What’s Up (What’s Going On)” (Linda Perry)

Lainey Wilson; Photo by Todd Owyoung/NBC
Lainey Wilson; Photo by Todd Owyoung/NBC

Additionally, Wilson will soon join the cast of Paramount’s Yellowstone for its fifth season. The Louisiana native will take on the role of Abby, a character co-creator Taylor Sheridan crafted specifically for the “Things A Man Oughta Know” singer. On the show, Wilson will perform new original music, written and recorded by the hitmaker herself.

Wilson is currently serving as direct support on Jon Pardi’s Ain’t Always The Cowboy Tour alongside Hailey Whitters and will soon hit the road to perform on select dates of Luke Combs’ Middle Of Somewhere Tour this fall.

For more information about Lainey Wilson and her upcoming tour dates, visit

Share on:

Tags from this story:

More from Country Now Staff

More posts from Country Now Staff ›

You may also like