Luke Bryan Captures a Summer Romance in Video for Brand New Single, ‘Waves’

Luke Bryan recently released his new single, “Waves,” along with the official music video for the track. Written by Zach…


Melinda Lorge

| Posted on

April 15, 2021

Share on:

Luke Bryan recently released his new single, “Waves,” along with the official music video for the track. Written by Zach Crowell, Ryan Hurd and Chase McGill, “Waves” is featured on the newly-released deluxe version of Bryan’s most recent album, Born Here Live Here Die Here.

“‘Waves’ is a song about kids falling in love during the summer and just all the images and everything about how beautiful that summer love is and how the emotions just keep coming in waves,” Bryan said of the song in a recent press release. “‘Waves’ is kind of a play on words, and I fell in love with the song the second I heard it.”

The accompanying video for the track takes fans through the beginning moments of a couple’s summer love story. Opening up with an older man replaying images – in his mind – of the time he met what is now presumably his wife, viewers catch shots of teenage lovers holding hands on a boardwalk, sharing cotton candy, and running through sand beneath nighttime fireworks. Bryan, meanwhile, also offers up a casual, solo beach-side performance of the song.

“You were made for summer / Just like these stars we’re under / We’re made for lighting this July sky up / Blanket down made for me and you tied up,” Bryan sings throughout the chorus, alongside a heart-thumping drum beat and mesmerizing harmony. “All night long, over and over / Crash into me and pull me closer / Kiss by kiss, one after another / Don’t let go, baby, let this summer / Just keep on coming in waves / Keep coming in waves / Keep on coming in waves / Keep coming in waves.”

With the release of new music, Bryan has kept quite busy. The superstar celebrated his single, and album with various appearances on television programs like Good Morning America and Jimmy Kimmel Live! 

Born Here Live Here Die Here, which debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard Top Country Albums chart, was originally released in August of 2020. Listeners of the Born Here Live Here Die Here deluxe version will find six new tracks on top of the album’s original 10. The new tracks include the newly-released “Waves,” “Drink A Little Whiskey Down,” “Bill Dance,” “Up,” “Floatin’ This Creek,” and “Country Does.”

Check out Bryan’s new single, “Waves,” and its accompanying video in the clip above.

Share on:

Tags from this story:

More from Melinda Lorge

More posts from Melinda Lorge ›

You may also like