Luke Combs, Miranda Lambert Among 2020 CMA Awards Nominees

Nominees for the 54th Annual CMA Awards were revealed on Tuesday (Sept. 1). Carly Pearce and Luke Combs announced the…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

September 1, 2020


7:57 am

Share on:

Luke Combs, Miranda Lambert; Photos by Andrew Wendowski

Nominees for the 54th Annual CMA Awards were revealed on Tuesday (Sept. 1).

Carly Pearce and Luke Combs announced the nominees in several categories live from the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville on ABC’s Good Morning America. Grabby Barrett and Ingrid Andress revealed nominees in the remaining categories during a livestream on the Country Music Association’s Facebook and YouTube.

Miranda Lambert leads the pack of nominees with an impressive seven nominations, making CMA Awards history as the female artist to accumulate a record-breaking 55 total career nods. The record was previously held by Reba McEntire, who earned her 51st career nomination this year.

Luke Combs follows with six nods, including his first-ever CMA Entertainer of the Year nomination.

Other top nominees include Maren Morris, Dan + Shay, Carly Pearce, Ashley McBryde and Keith Urban.

The complete list of CMA Awards nominees can be viewed below.

2020 CMA Awards Nominees

Entertainer of the Year 

Eric Church

Luke Combs

Miranda Lambert

Carrie Underwood

Keith Urban

Single of the Year
Award goes to Artist(s), Producer(s), and Mix Engineer

  • “10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
    Producer: Dan Smyers
    Mix Engineer: Jeff Juliano
  • “Beer Never Broke My Heart” – Luke Combs
    Producer: Scott Moffatt
    Mix Engineer: Jim Cooley
  • “Bluebird” – Miranda Lambert
    Producer: Jay Joyce
    Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce
  • “The Bones” – Maren Morris
    Producer: Greg Kurstin
    Mix Engineer: Greg Kurstin
  • “I Hope” – Gabby Barrett
    Producers: Ross Copperman, Zach Kale
    Mix Engineer: Buckley Miller

Album of the Year
Award goes to Artist and Producers

  • Heartache Medication – Jon Pardi
    Producers: Bart Butler, Ryan Gore, Jon Pardi
  • Never Will – Ashley McBryde
    Producers: Jay Joyce, John Peets
  • Old Dominion – Old Dominion
    Producers: Shane McAnally, Old Dominion
  • What You See Is What You Get – Luke Combs
    Producer: Scott Moffatt
  • Wildcard – Miranda Lambert
    Producer: Jay Joyce

Song of the Year
Award goes to Songwriters

  • “Bluebird”
    Songwriters: Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby, Miranda Lambert
  • “The Bones”
    Songwriters: Maren Morris, Jimmy Robbins, Laura Veltz
  • “Even Though I’m Leaving”
    Songwriters: Luke Combs, Wyatt B. Durrette III, Ray Fulcher
  • “I Hope You’re Happy Now”
    Songwriters: Luke Combs, Randy Montana, Carly Pearce, Jonathan Singleton
  • “More Hearts Than Mine”
    Songwriters: Ingrid Andress, Sam Ellis, Derrick Southerland

Female Vocalist of the Year

Miranda Lambert

Ashley McBryde

Maren Morris

Kacey Musgraves

Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year

Eric Church

Luke Combs

Thomas Rhett

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

Vocal Group of the Year

Lady A

Little Big Town


Old Dominion

Rascal Flatts

Vocal Duo of the Year

Brooks & Dunn

Brothers Osborne

Dan + Shay

Florida Georgia Line

Maddie & Tae

Musical Event of the Year 
Award goes to Artists and Producer(s)

  • “10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
    Producer: Dan Smyers
  • “Be A Light” – Thomas Rhett featuring Reba McEntire, Hillary Scott, Chris Tomlin, Keith Urban
    Producer: Dann Huff
  • “The Bones” – Maren Morris with Hozier
    Producer: Greg Kurstin
  • “Fooled Around And Fell In Love” – Miranda Lambert (feat. Maren Morris, Elle King, Ashley McBryde, Tenille Townes & Caylee Hammack)
    Producer: Jay Joyce
  • “I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Carly Pearce and Lee Brice
    Producer: busbee

Musician of the Year

Jenee Fleenor

Paul Franklin

Rob McNelley

Ilya Toshinskiy

Derek Wells

Music Video of the Year
Award goes to Artist(s) and Director

  • “10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)
    Director: Patrick Tracy
  • “Bluebird” – Miranda Lambert
    Director: Trey Fanjoy
  • “Homemade” – Jake Owen
    Director: Justin Clough
  • “I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Carly Pearce and Lee Brice
    Director: Sam Siske
  • “Second One To Know” – Chris Stapleton
    Director: David Coleman

New Artist of the Year

Jimmie Allen

Ingrid Andress

Gabby Barrett

Carly Pearce

Morgan Wallen

The 54th Annual CMA Awards will broadcast on Wednesday, Nov. 11 (8:00 – 11:00 PM/EST) on ABC.

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for and her work being featured on She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.