Muscadine Bloodline Readies ‘Strongest’ Album Yet: ‘The Coastal Plain’

The duo promises that their music is the “strongest it’s ever been.”


Madeleine O’Connell

| Posted on

July 8, 2024


10:01 am

Share on:

Muscadine Bloodline; Photo by Jay Siske

Muscadine Bloodline recently announced plans to release their much anticipated new album, The Coastal Plain, on August 16 via Stancaster Music via Thirty Tigers.

The independent country duo made up of members Charlie Muncaster and Gary Stanton produced the forthcoming project with their close collaborator Ryan Youmans. Together, they have compiled their most authentic project to date with 14 tracks that tell real-life stories of the people and places that raised them in their hometown of Mobile, AL. This album will follow their growing discography of three full-length albums, including their latest, 2023’s Teenage Dixie

While reflecting on their soon-to-be-released album, Muscadine Bloodline shares, “In a way this record feels like an ode to ourselves and the fact that we’ve finally found our sound, which is hopefully something that will end up inspiring other artists down the road. Our motto for the last few years has been, ‘Make what we love, and everything else will take care of itself.’ We just want to stay adventurous and keep evolving and keep elevating our game, and because of that the music is the strongest it’s ever been.” 

Muscadine Bloodline - The Coastal Plain
Muscadine Bloodline – The Coastal Plain

In addition to Muncaster and Stanton, The Coastal Plain also features the duo’s longtime live band—Justin Rowton on bass, Weston Stewart on guitar and Zoltan Tobak on the drums, as well as special guest Kyle Nixon on the track, “Tickets to Turnpike.” 

Fans have already gotten a glimpse into the collection through previous releases including “Mary Riley,” “Earle Byrd From Mexia,” “Weyerhaeuser Land” and “Low Hangin’ Fruit. Plus, Muscadine Bloodline just unveiled a brand-new song titled “10-90.”

“The Coastal Plain” Track List:

1. Two Tattered Tulips

2. Daffodils

3. Earle Byrd From Mexia

4. One Man War

5. Pay Me No Mind

6. Tickets to Turnpike (feat. Kyle Nix)

7. Airport & McGregor

8. High On The Ridge

9. Rattlesnake Ridge

10. 10-90

11. Mary Riley

12. Weyerhaeuser Land

13. Low Hangin’ Fruit

14. Good In This World

New Song “10-90”

Written by the duo with Kendal Marvel, “10-90” portrays a set of raw emotions amid a stripped-down acoustic melody that allows their rugged vocals to be on full display. Muncaster and Stanton serenade listeners with the promise to their partners to always lift them up on even the darkest of days. 

“Relationships always have ups and downs and this song is a testament to picking up the extra care that your partner might need at the time,” the pair said while reflecting on the track. “Sometimes it can be 50/50 but most of the time the percentage is swayed one way or the other depending on what you or your partner is going through. This song is special because of that!” 

YouTube video

While fans await their new full-length album Muscadine Bloodline will continue to tour throughout summer with upcoming shows in Montana, Illinois, Nebraska, Kansas and more. 

They will also perform at several festivals this year including Windy City Smokeout, Under the Big Sky Festival, Greenville County Music Festival and more. 

Share on:

Madeleine O’Connell graduated from North Central College with a bachelors degree in Journalism and Broadcast Communications before deciding to pursue her studies further at DePaul University. There, she earned her masters degree in Digital Communication & Media Arts. O’Connell served as a freelance writer for over two years while also interning with the Academy of Country Music, SiriusXM and Circle Media and assisting with Amazon Music’s Country Heat Weekly podcast. In addition to Country Now, she has been published in American Songwriter, Music Mayhem, and Holler.Country. Madeleine O’Connell is a member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.