Old Dominion Lands Title of ACM Group of the Year

Old DOminion; Photo Courtesy ACM Awards
Old Dominion; Photo Courtesy ACM Awards

Old Dominion has officially been named ACM Awards Group of the Year. It’s their fifth consecutive win in the category. 

The band took the stage at Nashville’s Grand Ole Opry house to accept the honor from fellow country artist Blanco Brown. 

“Thank you,” the Old Dominion’s Matt Ramsey shared from the stage. “If we look surprised it’s became obviously everyone in this category, especially this year, it could be anyone.”

He went on to share his gratitude for everyone involved in their career as well as the the other nominees in the category for inspiring them. Ramsey also thanked the front line workers who were in attendance.  

Other groups nominated in the category included Lady A, Little Big Town, The Cadillac Three and The Highwomen.

The 56th ACM Awards also featured performances from Brothers Osborne, Kenny Chesney, Eric Church, Luke Combs, Dan + Shay, Mickey Guyton, Alan Jackson, Thomas Rhett, Blake Shelton, Chris Stapleton, Lady A, Ashley McBryde, Keith Urban, Gabby Barrett, Jimmie Allen, Little Big Town and more.

Additionally, the show included star-studded collaborations by Dierks Bentley feat. The War And Treaty, Miranda Lambert with Jack Ingram and Jon Randall, Maren Morris and Ryan Hurd, Chris Young feat. Kane Brown, Carly Pearce and Lee Brice, as well as Carrie Underwood & CeCe Winans. The show opener featured the live debut of Elle King and Miranda Lambert’s duet, “Drunk (And I Don’t Want To Go Home).”

Co-hosted by Keith Urban and Mickey Guyton, the 2021 ACM Awards took place in Music City for the second consecutive year. The three-hour awards show took place at three iconic Nashville venues, including Grand Ole Opry House, Ryman Auditorium and The Bluebird Cafe. The awards show aired on Sunday, April 18 (live 8:00-11:00 PM ET) on CBS Television Network and were also streamed live on CBS All Access.