Scotty McCreery Details His Highly Anticipated Fifth Studio Album, ‘Rise And Fall’

McCreery also surprised fans with the release of a brand-new track, “Slow Dance.”


Madeleine O’Connell

| Posted on

March 1, 2024


5:33 pm

Share on:

Scotty McCreery; Photo by Jeff Ray

Scotty McCreery will soon lend his vocals to themes of love, heartbreak, rowdy barn burners, faith, family, and more on his just-announced fifth studio album Rise and Fall, arriving May 10, 2024.

“This Is Truly My Favorite Album”

The Triple Tigers recording artist co-wrote 12 of the 13 songs on what he sees as his “favorite album” he’s created so far.  McCreery hinted that nostalgia will be the forefront of the project as he channels the musical greats who are responsible for instilling his passion for music. 

Scotty McCreery - Rise and Fall
Scotty McCreery – Rise and Fall

“I know every artist says it, but this is truly my favorite album I’ve made so far,” shares McCreery. “I wanted to create an album that reflected the music I grew up on and wasn’t chasing trends. So, I brought several of my songwriting buddies to the mountains of North Carolina to sit down and write a full-on country album that told a story, start to finish, and spoke to my soul.”

He added that those attending his live shows over the past few months have been lucky enough to get an advance listen to many of the tracks off the album. Based on the “overwhelming” response he’s received from fans, it seems many of them agree that this will be a great new addition to his discography. 

McCreery Draws From His Recent Rise In Success

Produced by longtime collaborators Frank Rogers, Aaron Eshuis and Derek Wells, the new collection of songs is expected to take listeners on a journey through his most recent run of success. The list of his latest accomplishments includes selling out concerts across the globe, earning five consecutive No. 1 hits, being invited by his musical hero Garth Brooks to become the newest member of the iconic Grand Ole Opry and becoming a first-time dad to his son named Avery in 2022. According to a recent release, McCreery’s new chapter of fatherhood has had a great impact on his songwriting and will be highlighted through several songs on the album.

Scotty McCreery; Photo by Jeff Ray
Scotty McCreery; Photo by Jeff Ray

“I feel like we’re on the rise now, but I’ve fallen pretty low as well,” McCreery admits. “I learned from every little part of that, and it helped me to know who I was as a person – let alone an artist. The rises and the falls helped craft these songs. They made this album what it is.”

Rise and Fall will be released digitally as well as on CD and vinyl. In addition, Amazon will release a limited edition, forest green vinyl version of the album.

Surprise New Song Drop

To celebrate the news of his next full-length collection, the North Carolina native also surprised fans with the release of his new song, “Slow Dance.” Co-penned by McCreery with Brent Anderson, Derek George and Monty Criswell, McCreery puts his baritone vocals on display through the love-filled lyrics that find him crooning over his other half. 

YouTube video

The song proves his longstanding commitment to celebrating what matters most as he illustrates the importance of slowing down from time to time, because it often feels like life moves “at the speed of sound.” McCreery also tips his hat to several country music icons throughout the tender tune, including Keith Whitley, George Strait, and Conway Twitty.

“Baby, you’re my slow dance/ To Whitley in the kitchen/ Taking my hand, and all of my attention/ Cheek to cheek across the floor/ When I need to shut the door/ On a world that’s always moving so fast/ Baby, you’re my slow dance,” he sings on the first chorus. 

The Long-Awaited Release Is Finally Here

The “Five More Minutes” singer first began teasing the 90s-inspired country song on social media a few months back, and ever since has continued to receive strong pleas from fans, urging him to release the track. 

@scottymccreery Here’s a deep voiced, new country song for yall on this fine Wednesday evening #SlowDance #countrymusic ♬ original sound – Scotty McCreery

“I am not the greatest at doing social media, but my team encourages me to do it,” explains McCreery. “A few months back, I was waiting on some hibachi takeout and listening to the new tracks in my truck. I filmed a quick video of me singing along with ‘Slow Dance’ and posted it on my socials, picked up my takeout food, and went home to eat dinner with Gabi. I looked at my phone that evening and the song had blown up; it’s now my most watched TikTok video to date. Over the last few weeks, anytime I post a photo on social media, the response I get back is ‘That’s great…so when are you putting ‘Slow Dance’ out?’ I’m excited to finally put it out!!” 

“Slow Dance” is the fourth song released from the album, following “Can’t Pass the Bar,” “Love Like This,” and the lead single “Cab in a Solo” which is currently sitting in the Top 12 on both Mediabase and Billboard charts.

Scotty McCreery; Photo by Anthony Weber
Scotty McCreery; Photo by Anthony Weber

Rise and Fall track listing:

  1. Little More Gone (Scotty McCreery, Brent Anderson, Derek George, Frank Rogers, Bobby Hamrick, Jeremy Bussey, Monty Criswell)
  2. Cab in a Solo (Scotty McCreery, Brent Anderson, Frank Rogers)
  3. Lonely (Scotty McCreery, Brent Anderson, Derek George, Frank Rogers, Bobby Hamrick, Jeremy Bussey, Monty Criswell)
  4. Can’t Pass the Bar (Scotty McCreery, Brent Anderson, Cale Dodds, Frank Rogers)
  5. Hey Rose (Jay Brunswick, Jeremy Bussey, Bobby Hamrick)
  6. Fall of Summer (Scotty McCreery, Brent Anderson, Derek George, Frank Rogers, Monty Criswell)
  7. Love Like This (Scotty McCreery, Frank Rogers, Aaron Eshuis)
  8. Slow Dance (Scotty McCreery, Brent Anderson, Derek George, Monty Criswell)
  9. No Country for Old Men (Scotty McCreery, Brent Anderson, Derek George, Frank Rogers, Monty Criswell)
  10. And Countin’ (Scotty McCreery, Frank Rogers, Bobby Hamrick, Jeremy Bussey)
  11. Stuck Behind a Tractor (Scotty McCreery, Chase McGill, Rhett Akins)
  12. Red Letter Blueprint (Scotty McCreery, Derek George, Brent Anderson, Jeremy Bussey, Monty Criswell)
  13. Porch (Scotty McCreery, Greylan James, Heather Morgan)

Scotty McCreery’s 2024 Cab in a Solo Tour continues with upcoming stops in Boston, MA at MGM Music Hall at Fenway and in Syracuse, NY at the Landmark Theatre. The tour, produced by Live Nation, kicked off with three consecutive sold-out shows and will run through mid-March.

Opening for McCreery on stages throughout the U.S. is Anne Wilson as direct support along with Noah Hicks. 

Share on:

Madeleine O’Connell graduated from North Central College with a bachelors degree in Journalism and Broadcast Communications before deciding to pursue her studies further at DePaul University. There, she earned her masters degree in Digital Communication & Media Arts. O’Connell served as a freelance writer for over two years while also interning with the Academy of Country Music, SiriusXM and Circle Media and assisting with Amazon Music’s Country Heat Weekly podcast. In addition to Country Now, she has been published in American Songwriter, Music Mayhem, and Holler.Country. Madeleine O’Connell is a member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.