Tigirlily Gold Celebrates ACM Awards Win And Unveils Track List For Debut Album, ‘Blonde’

The duo’s debut album is set to release on July 26.


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

May 23, 2024


1:53 pm

Share on:

Kendra Slaubaugh and Krista Slaubaugh of Tigirlily Gold perform onstage at the 59th Academy of Country Music Awards at The Star in Frisco on May 16, 2024 in Frisco, Texas; Photo by John Shearer/Getty Images for ACM

ACM New Duo of the Year Tigirlily Gold, composed of sisters Kendra and Krista Slaubaugh, are counting down the days until the release of their debut album, Blonde

Set to debut on July 26, the project includes 10 tracks, including the duo’s buzzed-about, emotional single, “I Tried A Ring On” and the fan-favorite track, “Shoot Tequila.” A cover of the Leona Lewis hit “Bleeding Love” is also included within the track list.  

Featuring deeply personal tracks and poignant tales of love and loss, along with powerful anthems and songs of female empowerment, the duo aimed to reintroduce the beloved energy of girl groups into country music throughout the project. 

Tigirlily Gold-Blonde
Tigirlily Gold-Blonde

“Blonde is all about being undeniably and unapologetically yourself,” Krista shared. “We want everyone to feel confident and vulnerable enough at the same time to say what they need to say.”

Ahead of the album’s July 26 release, the duo shared a brand new song with fans. Out now, “Leroy” urges female listeners to know their worth and leave a man when he isn’t treating them right.  

“You probably ought to call Leroy/ Tell him to get his Chevy, get you packed and ready to go/ ‘cause I done told you what I need boy/ In one ear, out the other, feeling like your mother you know, yeah/ I’ve cussed about it, I’ve cried about it/ And now I’m nothing but tired about it/ So, the next time you miss the sound of my voice/ You probably ought to call Leroy,” they sing. 

Blonde follows Tigirliy Gold’s 2021 self-titled EP debut and the 2023 Blonde EP. 

Tigirlily Gold had the opportunity to perform “I Tried A Ring On” during the 59th Academy of Country Music Awards, following their big win in the ACM New Duo of the Year category. Their performance was a standout moment of the star-studded show and winning the ACM meant the world to them.  

“It is such an honor to have been named ACM New Duo/Group of the Year,” Kendra stated. “We have been a band since we were kids, and we couldn’t feel more grateful for the year we have had. Getting to perform on the main show…it’s just a dream come true.”

“We were always taught that if you work hard, are kind to people, and you never quit…good things will come. We could not be more excited to be recognized in this way,” Krista added. 

Tigirlily Gold; Photo by Jared Olson_
Tigirlily Gold; Photo by Jared Olson

Blonde Track Listing

  1. “Blonde”(Kendra Jo Slaubaugh, Krista Jade Slaubaugh, Alex Kline, Scott Stepakoff)
  2. “Leroy (Nora Collins, Jessie Jo Dillon, Forest Glen Whitehead)
  3. “Hometown Song” (Kendra Jo Slaubaugh, Krista Jade Slaubaugh, Alex Kline, Scott Stepakoff)
  4. “Move On” (Kendra Jo Slaubaugh, Krista Jade Slaubaugh, Alex Kline, Scott Stepakoff)
  5. “End Up Us” (Kendra Jo Slaubaugh, Krista Jade Slaubaugh, Todd Clark, Jason Cole Saenz)
  6. “I Tried A Ring On” (Kendra Jo Slaubaugh, Krista Jade Slaubaugh, Pete Good, Josh Jenkins)
  7. “Stupid Prizes” (Kendra Jo Slaubaugh, Krista Jade Slaubaugh, Pete Good, Josh Jenkins)
  8. “Shoot Tequila” (Kendra Jo Slaubaugh, Krista Jade Slaubaugh, Kevin Griffin, David Mescon)
  9. “Only Once” (Kendra Jo Slaubaugh, Krista Jade Slaubaugh, Alex Kline, Jason Cole Saenz)
  10. “Bleeding Love” (Ryan Tedder, Jesse McCartney)
Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for Answers.com and her work being featured on Forbes.com. She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.