WATCH: Luke Bryan and Jordan Davis Bring ‘Buy Dirt’ To Life With ACM Awards Performance

“You can’t buy happiness,” but Luke Bryan and Jordan Davis’ performance at the 2022 ACM Awards will put a big…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

March 7, 2022


11:20 pm

Share on:

Luke Bryan, Jordan Davis; Photo by Getty Images for ACM

“You can’t buy happiness,” but Luke Bryan and Jordan Davis’ performance at the 2022 ACM Awards will put a big smile on your face.

On Monday, March 7, the country superstars joined forces for a collaborative performance of Bryan’s current single, “Up,” as well as their multi-week, chart-topping duet, “Buy Dirt.”

“The fact that we use both of our songs… the beauty about ‘Up’ and ‘Buy Dirt’ they kind of have the same themes and the same rural tones. So, the fact that we’re about to collaborate in here together is pretty special,” Bryan shared ahead of their performance. 

“‘Up’ is one of my favorite songs from Luke, so to get to play ‘Dirt’ after that one is pretty cool,” Davis added. 

Performing live from Las Vegas’ Allegiant Stadium, Bryan and Davis brought some stunning visuals that filled the stage backdrop as they sang the chart-topping tune.

Co-written by Bobby Pinson, Jeremy Bussey and Taylor Phillips, “Up” appears on Bryan’s No. 1 album, Born Here Live Here Die Here.

Luke Bryan, Jordan Davis; Photo by Getty Images for ACM 1
Luke Bryan, Jordan Davis; Photo by Getty Images for ACM 1

“Buy Dirt,” which was penned by Davis and his brother Jacob Davis alongside Josh Jenkins and Matt Jenkins, appears on Davis’ EP of the same name.

Davis and Bryan were both up for several ACM Awards for “Buy Dirt,” including Single Of The Year, Song Of The Year, and Music Event Of The Year.

The 57th Academy of Country Music Awards aired on Monday, March 7, exclusively on Prime Video at 8/7c

Co-hosted by global icon Dolly Parton with Jimmie Allen and Gabby Barrett, the two-hour show livestreamed without commercials and featured 20+ performances from some of country music’s hottest superstars and rising newcomers.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Academy of Country Music (ACM) (@acmawards)

The performance lineup included Parker McCollum and Lainey Wilson, who were crowned this year’s New Male and New Female Artist of the Year, respectively as well as Barrett, Allen, Jason Aldean, Carrie Underwood, Kane Brown, Eric Church, Walker Hayes, Maren Morris, Brothers Osborne, Thomas Rhett, Chris Stapleton, Chris Young, Lady A and Kelly Clarkson.

“The concert event of the year” also included several collaborations, including Parton featuring Kelsea Ballerini (“Big Dreams & Faded Jeans”), BRELAND featuring Thomas Rhett (“Praise The Lord”), Brothers Osborne and Brittney Spencer (“These Boots Are Made for Walkin’”), Parmalee and Blanco Brown featuring Brooke Eden (“Just the Way”), Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde (“Never Wanted to Be That Girl”), and Chris Young featuring Mitchell Tenpenny (“At the End of a Bar”).

The 2022 ACM Awards presenters included Alan Ritchson (actor, Reacher), Derek Carr (quarterback, Las Vegas Raiders), Guy Torry (comedian, Phat Tuesdays), James Patterson (author, Run Rose Run), Jason Aldean, Kelsey Asbille (actor, Yellowstone), Luke Grimes (actor, Yellowstone), Mickey Guyton, and Tom Pelphrey (actor, Outer Range).

The ACM Awards made history as the first major awards show to livestream exclusively as it streamed live on Prime Video in the U.S., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the UK.

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for and her work being featured on She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.