2021 CMT Music Awards: Everything You Need To Know

The CMT Music Awards are upon us! The coveted awards show will air live on Wednesday, June 9 at 8/7c on…


Andrew Wendowski

| Posted on

June 6, 2021


1:27 pm

Share on:

Kane Brown and Kelsea Ballerini; Photo Courtesy of John Shearer/CMT

The CMT Music Awards are upon us! The coveted awards show will air live on Wednesday, June 9 at 8/7c on CMT as well as on MTV, MTV2, Logo, Paramount Network and TV Land. The CMT Music Awards will deliver “two-and-a-half hours of nonstop performances and one-of-a-kind collaborations in and around Music City.”

Here’s a rundown of everything you need to know about the 2021 CMT Music Awards, including how to watch, who’s hosting, performing and more.

How To Watch:

The 2021 CMT Music Awards, country music’s only entirely fan-voted show, will air on Wednesday, June 9 at 8/7c on CMT as well as on MTV, MTV2, Logo, Paramount Network and TV Land.

Who Is Hosting:

Kane Brown and Kelsea Ballerini will co-host the star-studded show.

“I loved getting a chance to host the CMT Music Awards last year and I’m excited to be back this year with Kelsea,” Brown said. “The CMT Music Awards are special to me – it’s the first industry award I won and getting on that stage was an amazing feeling. I love that the fans get to have their voices heard as we celebrate the best in country music.”

“I’m so excited to be hosting the 2021 CMT Music Awards with Kane! The CMT Awards are so special because they are truly fan voted,” Ballerini added. “Following a year plus where we have not been able to be with the fans and share music together, will make this night even more special.”

“Kelsea and Kane are two of the brightest, most sought-after stars in country music today and we’re thrilled to welcome them both as hosts of the 2021 CMT Music Awards,” shared CMT producers. “This dynamic duo reflects the show’s revitalized energy as live music returns to center stage in a night filled with incredible outdoor performances, cross-genre collaborations and a few surprises!”

Who Is Nominated:

Miranda Lambert and Maren Morris lead the pack with four nominations each. CMT Music Awards co-hosts, Kelsea Ballerini and Kane Brown, plus Little Big Town and Mickey Guyton are tied with three nominations each.

The fan-voted awards show includes a whopping 13 first-time nominees including Guyton, Dylan Scott, Hailey Whitters, HARDY, Lainey Wilson, Margo Price, Nathaniel Rateliff, Niko Moon, Noah Cyrus, Parmalee, Ryan Hurd, Tyler Hubbard and Willie Jones. 

Other nominees include Carrie Underwood, Luke Combs, Gabby Barrett, Luke Bryan, Thomas Rhett, Carly Pearce, Chris Stapleton, Darius Rucker and many more.

Additionally, Linda Martell is receiving the CMT Equal Play Award. Martell is best known for being a pioneer for black women in the country music industry. She was the first solo black woman to appear on the Grand Ole Opry. 

Click HERE for a full list of nominees and the categories they are nominated in. Fan voting is closed but fans can still vote for ‘Video of the Year’ by visiting vote.cmt.com through June 9.

Who Is Performing:

Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Luke Bryan
Luke Combs

Miranda Lambert + Jack Ingram + Jon Randall
BRELAND + Mickey Guyton
Brothers Osborne + Dierks Bentley
Carrie Underwood + NEEDTOBREATHE
Chris Young + Kane Brown
Mickey Guyton + Gladys Knight
Kelsea Ballerini + Paul Klein from LANY
Lady A + Carly Pearce + Lindsay Ell
Lauren Alaina + Jon Pardi
Chris Stapleton + H.E.R.
Ingrid Andress + JP Saxe

Ram Trucks Side Stage
Blanco Brown – “Nobody’s More Country”
Dylan Scott – “Nobody”
Hailey Whitters – “Fillin’ My Cup”
Lainey Wilson – “Things A Man Oughta Know”
Niko Moon – “Good Time”
Tenille Arts – “Somebody Like That”

Gabby Barrett and Maren Morris were originally slated to perform, however both have since removed themselves from the lineup.

Who Is Presenting:

Presenters include: Anthony Mackie, Brett Young, Busy Philipps, Carly Pearce, Dylan Scott, Gladys Knight, Iliza Shlesinger, Little Big Town, Michael Strahan, Mickey Guyton, Restless Road, Taylor Lewan, Trace Adkins and CMT hosts Cody Alan, Katie Cook and Ashley ShahAhmadi.

Producers And Sponsors:

The 2021 CMT Music Awards is executively produced by CMT’s Margaret Comeaux, Switched On Entertainment’s John Hamlin and Amy Lin Johnson; the Executives in Charge of Production are Jackie Barba and Heather D. Graffagnino.

Official sponsors of the 2021 awards show include Lipton Iced Tea, Little Caesars®, Ram Truck Brand and Verizon.

Be sure to follow Country Now on FacebookTwitter and Instagram for the latest CMT Music Awards updates.

Share on:

Andrew Wendowski

Written by

Andrew Wendowski

Andrew Wendowski is the Founder and CEO of Music Mayhem. As a self-taught entrepreneur, he oversees content as the Editor-In-Chief for the independent brand. Wendowski, who splits time between Philadelphia, Penn., and Nashville, Tenn., has an extensive background in multimedia. Before launching Music Mayhem in 2014, he worked as a highly sought-after photojournalist and tour photographer, collaborating with such labels as Interscope Records and Republic Records. He has captured photos of some of the biggest names, including Taylor Swift, Metallica, Harry Styles, P!NK, Morgan Wallen, Carrie Underwood, The Rolling Stones, Madonna, Shania Twain, and hundreds more. Wendowski’s photos and freelance work have appeared nationwide and can be seen everywhere from ad campaigns to various publications, including Billboard and Rolling Stone. When Wendowski isn’t running Music Mayhem, he enjoys spending time at concerts, traveling, and capturing photos.