Remember When Rascal Flatts Released Their Self-Titled Debut Album?

Rascal Flatts; Photo by Andrew Wendowski
Rascal Flatts; Photo by Andrew Wendowski
Rascal Flatts; Photo by Andrew Wendowski

On this day in 2000, chart-topping trio Rascal Flatts released their debut studio album entitled Rascal Flatts.

The 11-track album was released on June 6 by Lyric Street Records. The country music group has stayed true to their sound from the beginning, creating projects that are a crossover of country and pop, which is evident in their debut album.

The work gained recognition in the music scene, securing a spot on the Top Ten Billboard Hot Country Songs charts for four songs, including “Prayin’ for Daylight,” “This Everyday Love,” “While You Loved Me” and “I’m Movin’ On.” “Long Slow Beautiful Dance,” a song that featured each member on lead vocals, also made it onto the charts on the lower end.

“Prayin’ for Daylight” not only had an impressive debut, making it to number three on the Billboard Country Airplay chart and holding a spot for 31 weeks, it is also very close to the band’s heart.

Bassist DeMarcus shares what the song means to the country group in an old post from the artists’ website. “It’s a very memorable kind of chorus and it just showcases what we can do as well as the band. I think if somebody said tell us what you’re all about, we could play that song and they’d get a pretty good picture of what we can do.”

Although Rascal Flatts sold 2,303,000 in the United States as of May 2009 and was certified 2× Platinum by the RIAA, it remains the sole album from the band that has not featured a number one single or a song produced by the trio.

Tags from the story