BREAKING: CMT To Honor Lainey Wilson With ‘Breakout Artist of the Year’ Award: ‘This Past Year Has Been A Wild Ride’

Lainey Wilson will be honored as the “Breakout Artist of the Year” at the upcoming 2022 CMT Artists Of The…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

October 5, 2022

Share on:

Lainey Wilson; Photo by Getty Images For ACM

Lainey Wilson will be honored as the “Breakout Artist of the Year” at the upcoming 2022 CMT Artists Of The Year celebration. 

Wilson is the fifth recipient of the award, following Mickey Guyton (2021), Ashley McBryde (2019), Kelsea Ballerini (2016), and Chris Stapleton (2015).

“This past year has been a wild ride,” Wilson said. “To be considered for this award reinforces that the years of hard work my team and I have put in was all worth it. The team at CMT feels like family, and the way they genuinely support artists on their platform is so special and important for dreamers like me.”

“When it came to naming ‘Breakout Artist,’ Lainey Wilson was unquestionably our only choice this year,” said Leslie Fram, SVP, Music & Talent, CMT. “Not only is she a powerhouse performer and tremendously gifted songwriter with contagious energy and drive, she is just starting to show the world her range and versatility, as evident by her upcoming role on hit series ‘Yellowstone.’ From naming her as part of the ‘Next Women of Country’ franchise in 2019 to watching her shine on our CMT Music Awards stage with one of the most memorable performances this year, we couldn’t be more thrilled to celebrate Lainey’s much-deserved successes and cheer her on for all that’s next!” 

The news comes on the heels of Lainey Wilson’s back-to-back No.1 singles, “Things A Man Oughta Know” and “Never Say Never” with Cole Swindell. 

Wilson’s two latest singles, “Heart Like A Truck,” and “wait in the truck” with HARDY, continue to climb the charts at country radio.

Wilson is also gearing up to release her highly anticipated new album, Bell Bottom Country. The 14-track project will include her latest single “Heart Like A Truck” and the just-released tune, “Watermelon Moonshine.”

Her sophomore album will also feature a tribute to her “Deddy” and a cover of 4 Non Blondes classic hit “What’s Up (What’s Going On).” Wilson co-wrote every song on the album except for the 4 Non Blondes cover.

“I’ve lived quite a bit of life the past few years, and I have a lot more to say,” Wilson shared of the new album. “Sure, I love a good pair of bell-bottoms, but Bell Bottom Country to me has always been about the flare and what makes someone unique — I have really embraced mine, and I hope y’all can hear that across this project.”

Bell Bottom Country is derived from the moniker folks use to describe Wilson’s unique sound, style and aesthetic — it’s Country, but with a flare. The project will allow Wilson’s authenticity to vibrantly shine through the vulnerable and empowering lyrics. The album, which will blend the elements of ‘70s Rock, Funk and Soul while remaining true to her Country roots, will also display her growth as an artist and songwriter.

Lainey Wilson - Bell Bottom Country
Lainey Wilson – Bell Bottom Country

Additionally, Wilson will soon join the cast of Paramount’s Yellowstone for its fifth season. The Louisiana native will take on the role of Abby, a character co-creator Taylor Sheridan crafted specifically for the “Things A Man Oughta Know” singer. On the show, Wilson will perform new original music, written and recorded by the hitmaker herself.

For more information about Lainey Wilson and her upcoming album, visit

2022 CMT Artists of the Year: Carly Pearce, Cody Johnson, Kane Brown, Luke Combs, Walker Hayes; Photos Provided
2022 CMT Artists of the Year: Carly Pearce, Cody Johnson, Kane Brown, Luke Combs, Walker Hayes; Photos Provided

Premiering on Friday, October 14 at 9p/8c on CMT, 2022 CMT Artists of the Year will celebrate previously announced honorees Carly Pearce, Cody Johnson, Kane Brown, Luke Combs, and Walker Hayes with special never-before-seen performances, special guests, and congratulatory moments.

The star-studded event will also salute Alan Jackson, who is set to receive the “Artist of a Lifetime” honor. 

Additional honorees, performers and presenters for the 90-minute special to be announced soon.

Share on:

Tags from this story:

More from Lauren Jo Black

More posts from Lauren Jo Black ›

You may also like