Cody Johnson’s ”Til You Can’t’ Named CMA Single Of The Year: ‘I’m So Grateful To Be Here’

Cody Johnson secured his first-ever win in the CMA Single of the Year category with his hit track, “‘Til You…


Ally Roden

| Posted on

November 10, 2022


1:44 pm

Share on:

Cody Johnson; Photo By ABC

Cody Johnson secured his first-ever win in the CMA Single of the Year category with his hit track, “‘Til You Can’t” at the 56th Annual CMA Awards.

The CMA Single of the Year award goes to the Artist(s), Producer(s) and Mix Engineer: Johnson, Trent Willmon (Producer), and Jack Clarke (Mix Engineer).

The moment was made even sweeter as the singer had the chance to perform the song prior to the announcement.

YouTube video

“Ben Stennis and Matt Rodgers wrote, in my opinion, one of the greatest country music songs of all time and I’m just so blessed to have it in my hands,” said Johnson as he accepted the award. “Trent Willmon and Jack Clarke, these men that are standing behind me, they might be the greatest producer and the greatest engineer in the business. I’m so grateful to be here. God bless country music. Thank you so much.”

“Buy Dirt” by Jordan Davis and featuring Luke Bryan, “half of my hometown” by Kelsea Ballerini featuring Kenny Chesney, “Never Wanted To Be That Girl” by Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde and “You Should Probably Leave” by Chris Stapleton were also nominated in the same category.

Produced by Trent Willmon and co-written by Ben Stennis and Matthew J. Rogers, “‘Til You Can’t” was the lead single on Johnson’s latest project, Human: The Double Album. The song became Johnson’s first No. 1 and first multi-week No. 1 when it reached the top of the charts earlier this year. 

“I chose to record ”Til You Can’t’ first because of the positivity in the message of the song. In our world today, we could use more positivity,” he previously shared. “Secondly, because of how dynamic the melody was. I took it and ran with it.”

Cody Johnson; Photo by Benjamin Askinas, CMA
Cody Johnson; Photo by Benjamin Askinas, CMA

The Texas native was awarded CMA Music Video of the Year the morning of Wednesday, Nov. 9 for the “‘Til You Can’t” music video, marking his first CMA Award of all time. The Music Video of the Year trophy is awarded to the artist, Johnson, as well as director, Dustin Haney.

YouTube video

Johnson was also nominated for Male Vocalist of the Year and New Artist of the Year.

The 56th Annual CMA Awards featured performances from Luke Combs, Morgan Wallen, Miranda Lambert, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Cole Swindell, Cody Johnson, and Carly Pearce.

The show opened with an all-star tribute to the late Loretta Lynn from Underwood, Reba McEntire and Lambert. 

Underwood, Dierks Bentley, Jon Pardi, and Lainey Wilson joined together to honor the 2022 CMA Willie Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, Alan Jackson. 

Jon Pardi, Dierks Bentley, Lainey Wilson; Photo Courtesy CMA
Jon Pardi, Dierks Bentley, Lainey Wilson; Photo Courtesy CMA

Additionally, the show included star-studded collaborations from Kelsea Ballerini, Kelly Clarkson and Carly Pearce, HARDY and Lainey Wilson, Elle King with The Black Keys, Brothers featuring The War and Treaty, Thomas Rhett and Katy Perry, Chris Stapleton with Patty Loveless, Zac Brown Band, Jimmie Allen and Marcus King as well as Ashley McBryde with Pillbox Patti, Brandy Clark, Caylee Hammack and John Osborne.

Mookie Betts, BRELAND, Jessica Chastain, Jordan Davis, Sarah Drew, Cole Hauser, Tyler Hubbard, Wynonna Judd, Lady A, Rex Linn, Little Big Town, Parker McCollum, Reba McEntire, Ben and Erin Napier, Jeannie Seely, Michael Shannon, and Lainey Wilson were on hand to present during the ceremony.

Co-hosted by Luke Bryan and Peyton Manning, the 2022 CMA Awards broadcasted live from Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena and aired on ABC (8:00-11:00 PM/ET). 

The CMA Awards will also be available for viewing on Hulu beginning Thursday, Nov. 10. 

The 56th Annual CMA Awards was a production of the Country Music Association. Robert Deaton served as the Executive Producer, Alan Carter as the Director, and Jon Macks as the Head Writer.  

Share on:

Ally Roden

Written by

Ally Roden