Gabby Barrett, Sam Hunt, Shania Twain & More Added To CMT Music Awards

With just eight days until the 2020 CMT Music Awards, CMT has revealed the next round of performers for the…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

October 13, 2020


1:58 pm

Share on:

Gabby Barrett, Sam Hunt, Shania Twain

With just eight days until the 2020 CMT Music Awards, CMT has revealed the next round of performers for the star-studded show.

The network announced that Gabby Barrett, Morgan Wallen, Sam Hunt and Shania Twain will take the stage during the telecast. Additionally, the show will also feature a handful of collaborations, including Kelsea Ballerini and Halsey, Jimmie Allen with Noah Cyrus and Luke Combs with Brooks & Dunn.

The newly added artists join previously announced performers Ashley McBryde, Dan + Shay, Kane Brown, Little Big Town, Luke Bryan and Maren Morris, plus Ram Trucks Side Stage performers Caylee Hammack, HARDY, Ingrid Andress, Mickey Guyton, Riley Green and Travis Denning.

Country superstar Kane Brown and actress Sarah Hyland have been confirmed as two of the show’s four hosts.

The 2020 CMT Music Awards, country music’s only entirely fan-voted show, will air on October 21 at 8 p.m. CT on CMT as well as on MTV, MTV2, Logo, Paramount Network, Pop Tv and TV Land.

Kelsea Ballerini, Luke Combs, Sam Hunt and Thomas Rhett are the top nominees in 2020, each raking in six nominations.

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for and her work being featured on She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.