‘Keepin’ The Lights On’: Kameron Marlowe Details Soul-Baring Sophomore Album

Hear the poignant title track now.


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

March 15, 2024

Share on:

Kameron Marlowe; Photo by Trea Allen

Kameron Marlowe has unveiled plans to release his sophomore LP, Keepin’ The Lights On

When Will Kameron Marlowe Release His New Album?

The new, 16-track project was produced by Dann Huff and will be released on Friday, May 31. This album serves as the follow-up to his 2022 debut, We Were Cowboys

The Columbia recording artist poured his heart and soul into the project, which showcases his growth as a person and artist, from childhood to the present day. 

Kameron Marlowe - Keepin' The Lights On Cover Art
Kameron Marlowe – Keepin’ The Lights On Cover Art

“I feel like I discovered a lot about myself while making this record. I got to reflect on a lot of life from when I was a kid to life today,” Marlowe recalls. “This album explores everything from loss to love, depression to joy, and overcoming the voices in your head telling you you’re not good enough. I found myself looking at life through a different lens throughout the process.” 

Among the 16 tracks are the previously released “Quit You,” “Strangers (with Ella Langley)” and “Tennessee Don’t Mind.” 

Releases Title Track, “Keepin’ The Lights On”

To celebrate the album announcement, Marlowe also dropped the song “Keepin’ The Lights On,” a track he co-wrote with Kendell Marvel and Phil O’Donnell. The poignant ballad finds the North Carolina reminiscing on his childhood and how his parents worked tirelessly to provide for the family. 

“Me and my kid brother, man we thought we had it made / Shoes were on our feet/ Food was on our plates / We never understood why when Daddy said the prayer / Before he’d say Amen he’d thank the Man upstairs for/ Keepin’ the lights on,” the 26-year-old sings. 

By the final verse, Marlowe finds himself navigating the ups and downs of life as he tries to make ends meet while chasing his dreams as a country music artist in Nashville. 

“Honky-tonks and highways can be hell on a soul/ The neon life and late nights / Sure make a young man old / But me and this old guitar / Have got a promise that we’ve made / Heaven knows that it ain’t easy keepin’ them ends tied, but hey /We’re keepin’ the lights on,” Marlowe croons.  

Watch The Visualizer

YouTube video

Of the expertly crafted title track the powerhouse vocalist shares, “’Keepin’ The Lights On’ came from a conversation with my dad over the holidays about how he’s always thanking the man upstairs for keeping it all together, especially when times get tough. For me, this record is a reminder of hard work, dedication and keeping the promises that we make. It’s still crazy to me that people are listening to a small town boy from Kannapolis, N.C., but here I am releasing my second album. I can’t wait for y’all to hear it.” 

Coinciding with the release of “Keepin’ The Lights On,” Marlowe dropped a visualizer showcasing a raw delivery of the track at a dimly lit bar. Click above to watch.

Leading up to the highly anticipated album release, fans can catch Kameron Marlowe on his headlining Strangers Tour 2024.


1. “911” (Wyatt McCubbin/John Pierce/Micah Wilshire)

2. “Nothin’ Slowin’ Us Down” (Kameron Marlowe/Mitchell Tenpenny/Rob Williford/Dallas Wilson)

3. “On My Way Out” (Michael Hardy/Ben Johnson/Hunter Phelps/Taylor Phillips/Bobby Pinson)

4. “Never Really Know” (Kameron Marlowe/James McNair)

5. “Tennessee Don’t Mind” (Charles Kelley/Daniel Tashian)

6. “Leaning On You” (Kameron Marlowe/Erik Dylan/Wyatt McCubbin/Taylor Phillips)

7. “I Can Run” (Tucker Beathard/Oscar Charles Gnaedig/Ben Roberts)

8. “High Hopes” (Josh Osborne/Trevor Rosen/Brad Tursi)

9. “One That I Don’t Call” (Wyatt McCubbin/James McNair/John Pierce)

10. “Lock Me Up” (Ben Johnson/Jordan Minton/Hunter Phelps/Taylor Phillips)

11.  “Will It Be There in the Morning” (Kameron Marlowe/Mitchell Tenpenny/Dallas Wilson)

12. “Quit You” (Kameron Marlowe/James McNair/John Pierce)

13. “Smaller” (Erik Dylan/Wyatt McCubbin)

14. “Strangers (with Ella Langley)” (Kameron Marlowe/Ella Langley/Will Bundy/Chase McGill)

15. “Broke Down in a Truck” (Taylor Baynum/Nathan Justis/Dave Michael/Colby Williford)

16. “Keepin’ the Lights On” (Kameron Marlowe/Kendell Marvel/Phil O’Donnell)

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for Answers.com and her work being featured on Forbes.com. She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.