Koe Wetzel’s New Track ‘High Road’ With Jessie Murph Continues To Build Hype For His Upcoming ‘9 Lives’ Album

This buzzed-about track is heading to country radio later this month.


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

July 2, 2024


10:14 am

Share on:

Koe Wetzel, Jessie Murph; Photo by Claire Schmitt

Koe Wetzel and Jessie Murph are turning heads with their new collaboration, “High Road.” 

Written by Wetzel alongside Amy Allen, Carrie Karpinen and producer Gabe Simon, the song describes a rocky relationship between two lovers. It’s as if the pair was doomed from the start as they appear to continually fight over the same things again and again. 

In an effort to escape the constant negativity, they opt to take the “High Road,” and distance themselves amid their arguments.

Koe Wetzel, Jessie Murph - High Road Single Art
Koe Wetzel, Jessie Murph – High Road Single Art

“Imma let you cool down while I walk out/ You ain’t messing me up like the times before/ I don’t need a ticket to your shit show/ Knock yourself out and hit a new low/ Imma take the high road, take the high road, take the high road,” they sing. 

The song is the latest sneak peek of Wetzel’s highly anticipated new album, 9 Lives, which is set for release on July 19 via Columbia Records. 

“‘High Road’ is a good example of how this album shows a different side of me than people might expect. Every record’s almost turning a new leaf, always a left turn because of how honest I am,” Wetzel shared with a laugh. “But this? It’s what the people have been expecting from me, but we hadn’t gotten there yet. It’s a grown-up version of me.”

YouTube video

Following the release of the buzzed-about track, Wetzel and Murph shared a music video for “High Road,” taking fans inside the studio for an intense performance of the song. 

According to U.S. Radio Updater, “High Road” will officially be sent for adds at country radio beginning July 8. This marks both Koe Wetzel and Jessie Murph’s first official radio single in the country format. 

“High Road” follows previous releases “Sweet Dreams,” “Damn Near Normal,” and the title track, “9 Lives (Black Cat).” With each new release, Wetzel continues to showcase different sides of his artistry, further solidifying his place in mainstream country. 

Koe Wetzel, 9 Lives; Photo by John Park/ Design by Dalton Latham, Courtesy of Columbia Records
Koe Wetzel, 9 Lives; Photo by John Park/ Design by Dalton Latham, Courtesy of Columbia Records

In support of the album release, the Texas native will embark on his Damn Near Normal World Tour, taking his live show to cities around the U.S. and Europe. He’ll kick off this trek on July 27 and continue through November 13. 

9 Lives Track List:

1. “Continued” Skit

2. “9 Lives (Black Cat)” (Ropyr Wetzel, Amy Allen, Gabe Simon)

3. “Casamigos” (Ropyr Wetzel, Amy Allen, Sam Harris, Ben Burgess, Gabe Simon)

4. “Damn Near Normal” (Ropyr Wetzel, Amy Allen, Gabe Simon, Carrie Karpinen, Sam Harris)

5. “Leigh” (Ropyr Wetzel, Amy Allen, Gabe Simon)

6. “Twister” (Ropyr Wetzel, Steve Rusch, Ben Burgess, Josh Serrato)

7. “High Road” (Ropyr Wetzel, Amy Allen, Gabe Simon, Carrie Karpinen)

8. “Reconsider” (Charles John Brocco, Keith Quenton Gattis)

9. “Hatchet” (Gabe Simon, Mike Coogan)

10. “Sweet Dreams” (Ropyr Wetzel, Amy Allen, Josh Serrato, Gabe Simon, Sam Harris)

11. “Runnin’ Low” (Ropyr Wetzel, Amy Allen, Sam Harris, Gabe Simon, Ben Burgess)

12. “Bar Song” (Blake “Shy” Carter, Breyan Isaac, Dernst “D’Mile” Emile II, Dave Gibson)

13. “Last Outlaw Alive” (Josh Serrato, Ben Burgess, Sam Harris) 

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for Answers.com and her work being featured on Forbes.com. She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.