LISTEN: George Strait’s New Song Serves As A Reminder To Slow Down And Enjoy ‘The Little Things’ 

This marks the second release from Strait’s forthcoming “Cowboys And Dreamers” album.


Madeleine O’Connell

| Posted on

June 14, 2024


1:17 pm

Share on:

George Strait; Photo by Peggy Sirota

The day before George Strait takes the stage for his only Texas show in 2024, he shared another look into his forthcoming 31st studio record Cowboys And Dreamers with “The Little Things.” 

While living such a fast-paced life, it’s easy to breeze past moments that seem insignificant at the time, but looking back you may wish you had taking that extra minute to enjoy what’s right in front of you. Strait reminds us of this in his new song, which he penned alongside Monty Criswell and Bubba Strait, and produced with Chuck Ainlay and Tony Brown.

The Sentiment Behind The Song

The Country Music Hall of Famer lends his authentic, deep Texas vocals to the soulful track as he lists what he deems to be some of the most important “little things” in life, including “old Merle Haggard” songs, sharing a kiss on the dance floor, divulging in homemade ice cream and new strings on a guitar. 
“The secret to life, hey we all wanna find it/ But the more I look, the more that I’m reminded/ What we want is always right there hiding/ In all the little things,” he delivers on the chorus. 

In the very final verse, Straits hones in on his reminder with a heavy dose of emotionally charged-lyrics. He sings, “Take everything and drop it/ For a baby that needs rocking back to sleep/ I guess all I really want to say/ Don’t let the big get in the way/ Of the little things/ Little things.”

Sharing Personal Memories In Accompanying Music Video

Strait paired the new song with an accompanying music video that highlights the inspirational narrative using photos from different stages of his real-life journey. Viewers see a collection of photos fade in and out of the screen, chronicling Strait’s early life, the expansion of his family and his rise to fame as a country music singer.

YouTube video

George Strait’s New Album Out September 6

“The Little Things” marks the second release to come from Strait’s 13-track Cowboys And Dreamers albumfollowing his breezy country tune, “MIA Down in MIA.” Fans also got a taste of the project through his live performances of songs like “Honky Tonk Hall Of Fame” featuring Chris Stapleton and his own rendition of Waylon Jennings’ “Waymore’s Blues.” The entire Cowboys And Dreamers collection will be available on September 6. 

George Strait, Cowboys and Dreamers
George Strait, Cowboys and Dreamers

Cowboys And Dreamers Tracklist:

  1. Three Drinks Behind (Benjamin Gaither, Jeff Silvey and Kim Williams)
  2. Cowboys And Dreamers (Jessie Jo Dillon, Keith Gattis and Bubba Strait)
  3. To The Moon (Marty Brown and Steve Clark)
  4. MIA Down in MIA (Adam Craig and Dean Dillon)
  5. Wish I Could Say (Keith Gattis)
  6. Calling From The Car (Bobby Braddock)
  7. People Get Hurt Sometimes (Jim Lauderdale, Kendell Marvel and Jimmy Ritchey)
  8. Honky Tonk Hall Of Fame ft. Chris Stapleton (Chris Stapleton, Jameson Clark and Timothy James)
  9. The Little Things (George Strait, Monty Criswell and Bubba Strait)
  10. The Book (George Strait, Dean Dillon, Jessie Jo Dillon and Bubba Strait)
  11. Rent (Guy Clark and Keith Gattis)
  12. Waymore’s Blues (Curtis Buck and Waylon Jennings)
  13. The Journey Of Your Life (Ronnie Bowman and Troy Jones)

While fans await his album release, they can catch George Strait on the road, performing live at only 10 stadium shows this year. His next performance is scheduled to take place at Kyle Field in College Station, TX on Saturday, June 15. The reminder of his concerts will take place in Salt Lake City, UT; Detroit, MI.; Chicago, IL and a special show at Las Vegas, NV this December. 

For more information and to purchase tickets to all upcoming dates, visit

Share on:

Madeleine O’Connell graduated from North Central College with a bachelors degree in Journalism and Broadcast Communications before deciding to pursue her studies further at DePaul University. There, she earned her masters degree in Digital Communication & Media Arts. O’Connell served as a freelance writer for over two years while also interning with the Academy of Country Music, SiriusXM and Circle Media and assisting with Amazon Music’s Country Heat Weekly podcast. In addition to Country Now, she has been published in American Songwriter, Music Mayhem, and Holler.Country. Madeleine O’Connell is a member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.