Little Big Town And Sugarland Unite On The CMT Music Awards Stage, Make Major Announcement

The artists debuted their new collaboration and made the announcement everyone has been waiting for,


Madeleine O’Connell

| Posted on

April 7, 2024


11:56 pm

Share on:

Sugarland, Little Big Town; Photo by Rick Kern/Getty Images for CMT

Sugarland joined forces with Little Big Town at the 2024 CMT Music Awards to debut their brand-new collaboration, a cover of the legendary Phil Collins’ hit, “Take Me Home.”

This tune was released in 1985 and quickly became a pop hit of its generation. Now, the country hitmakers have put their own spin on the song, which appears on Collins’ No Jacket Required album. 

YouTube video

Little Big Town Kicked Things Off

Little Big Town opened the performance with a grand entrance onto the smoke-filled stage featuring a stream of lasers surrounding them. The quartet took turns lending their vocals to the intense lyrics found within the first verse, which begins to tell the story of a man who looking for the chance to break free from his own internal struggles. 

“Take that look of worry, I’m an ordinary man/ They don’t tell me nothin’, so I find out all I can/ There’s a fire that’s been burnin’ right outside my door/ I can’t see, but I feel it, and it helps to keep me warm/ So I, I don’t mind/ No I, I don’t mind,” they sang. 

Jimi Westbrook, Kimberly Schlapman, Karen Fairchild and Philip Sweet of Little Big Town;Photo by Rick Kern_Getty Images for CMT
Jimi Westbrook, Kimberly Schlapman, Karen Fairchild and Philip Sweet of Little Big Town;Photo by Rick Kern/Getty Images for CMT

Sugarland Brings Their Effortless Harmonies To The Stage

Suddenly, Sugarland emerges from the background and takes over the emotionally charged tune with their controlled harmonies. The group of singer/songwriters proceed to light up the stage, delivering a show-stopping performance for viewers. 

This isn’t the first time Jennifer Nettles and Kristian Bush have collaborated with Little Big Town on the CMT Music Awards stage. They first joined forces in 2008, along with Jake Owen, to deliver the Dream Academy’s hit “Life in a Northern Town.” This year’s appearance marked Sugarland’s long-awaited reunion and their first CMT performance since 2011. 

Sugarland has a long history with CMT, including 19 total CMT Music Awards nominations and a total of four wins. They took home their first belt buckle for “Breakthrough Video of the Year” with their breakout hit “Baby Girl” in 2005.

Sugarland; Photo by Photo by Matt Winkelmeyer/Getty Images for CMT
Sugarland; Photo by Photo by Matt Winkelmeyer/Getty Images for CMT

Hitting The Road Together This Fall

In a recent social media post, it was revealed that Nettles and Bush will be returning to the road as special guests on Little Big Town’s 25th anniversary tour dubbed the Take Me Home Tour. 

The band wrote, “we can’t wait to celebrate it with you ❤️ We will be hitting the road this fall as we celebrate #LBT25 with @sugarland and @thecastellows on the Take Me Home Tour. Proud to share our cover of the legendary @officialphilcollinsclassic “Take Me Home” out now.”

The Castellows, who will also be serving as support on the tour, commented that they “Can’t waitttt!!!”

The trek kicks off October 24 in Greenville, SC and runs through December 13, when they deliver their final show in Nashville, TN. 

Tour pre-sale starts Tuesday, April 9 at 10AM local time, and all tickets are on sale Friday, April 12 at 10AM local time. For more information, click HERE.

Who Else Performed At The 2024 CMT Music Awards?

In addition to Little Big Town and Sugarland, the 2024 CMT Music Awards welcomed a slew of emerging artists and well-established superstars to the stage. These performers included Bailey Zimmerman, Cody Johnson, Dasha, Jason Aldean, Jelly Roll, Keith Urban, Kelsea Ballerini, Lainey Wilson, Little Big Town + Sugarland, Megan Moroney, NEEDTOBREATHE + Jordan Davis, Old Dominion ft. Megan Moroney, Sam Hunt and Trisha Yearwood. 

The coveted awards show also featured an all-star presenter lineup including Amber Riley, Billy Bob Thornton (Landman), Carly Pearce, Cody Alan, Cody Johnson, Emily Osment (Young Sheldon), Emma Roberts, Gayle King (CBS Mornings), James Van Der Beek, Jane Seymour, Jelly Roll, Max Theriot (Fire Country), Megan Moroney, Melissa Etheridge, Mickey Guyton, Minnie Driver, Montana Jordan (Young Sheldon), Parmalee and Paul Walter Hauser. 

Hosted by Kelsea Ballerini, the 2024 CMT Music Awards aired LIVE from Austin, Texas’ Moody Center on Sunday, April 7th (8:00-11:00 PM ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network. The show was also available to stream live and on-demand on Paramount+.* 

Share on:

Madeleine O’Connell graduated from North Central College with a bachelors degree in Journalism and Broadcast Communications before deciding to pursue her studies further at DePaul University. There, she earned her masters degree in Digital Communication & Media Arts. O’Connell served as a freelance writer for over two years while also interning with the Academy of Country Music, SiriusXM and Circle Media and assisting with Amazon Music’s Country Heat Weekly podcast. In addition to Country Now, she has been published in American Songwriter, Music Mayhem, and Holler.Country. Madeleine O’Connell is a member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.