Luke Combs’ Chronicles His Journey With Parenthood In New ‘Fathers & Sons’ Album

The project features 12 tracks that signify some of Combs’ most personal songwriting to date.


Madeleine O’Connell

| Posted on

June 14, 2024


10:59 am

Share on:

Luke Combs; Photo by Zack Massey

Luke Combs’ highly anticipated album, Fathers & Sons, is out today (June 14) via Columbia Nashville.

Arriving just in time for Father’s Day, the unique project was recorded entirely live and features Combs most personal songwriting to date as he pulls from his own experiences as a dad to his 10-month-old son, Beau, and almost 2-year-old son, Tex. Listeners hear Luke Combs dissect all the different aspects of fatherhood, from the highs and lows to the lessons learned while raising a child and compiles them into a stunning display of 12 sentimental tracks.

Combs’ more recent set of albums have slowly been maturing with him, featuring songs that document the different phases of his life from his late night, party phase to settling down and building a family with his wife, Nicole. It was only natural for his next project to be an entire collection of dad songs, simply because that is where his focus lies at the moment.

Luke Combs; Fathers & Sons
Luke Combs; Fathers & Sons

Luke Combs Turns Real-Life Stories Of Parenthood Into Tender Tunes

Fans got their first and only official taste of the album through the release of “The Man He Sees In Me.” Co-penned by Luke Combs with Josh Phillips, the tender tune lent a small glimpse into all the emotions poured out through the remainder of the tracks as it finds the North Carolina native reflecting on how he’s seen in the eyes of his children.

He kicks things off by relishing the special moments with his boys in the song “Front Door Famous,” followed by a reminder to soak up every moment because “these days don’t last” in the tune, “Huntin’ By Yourself.” Combs then takes a hard look into the future on “Whoever You Turn Out To Be” and “Remember Him That Way” and even pays tribute to his own father in “My Old Man Was Right.”

Luke Combs with Sons; Photos via Instagram
Luke Combs with Sons; Photos via Instagram

The project comes to a close with “Take Me Out To The Ballgame,” an emotional depiction of the reality of divorce and how it affects the child caught in the middle of two unhappy parents.

In addition to Luke Combs, Fathers & Sons also features acclaimed musicians Jim “Moose” Brown (keys), Sam Bush (mandolin), Stuart Duncan (fiddle), Mark Hill (bass),Josh Hunt (drums), Joey Landreth (electric guitar), Steve Mackey (bass), Josh Matheny (dobro), Jerry Roe (drums), Jonathan Singleton (acoustic guitar), Bryan Sutton (acoustic guitar) and Charlie Worsham (acoustic guitar). 

Fathers & Sons Track List:

1. Front Door Famous

2. In Case I Ain’t Around

3. Huntin’ By Yourself

4. Little Country Boys

5. Whoever You Turn Out To Be

6. Remember Him That Way

7. The Man He Sees In Me

8. All I Ever Do Is Leave

9. Plant A Seed

10. Ride Around Heaven

11. My Old Man Was Right

12. Take Me Out To The Ballgame

Growin’ Up and Gettin’ Old Stadium Tour Continues This Weekend

Luke Combs performs on his Growin’ Up and Gettin’ Old Tour; Photo by David Bergman, Courtesy of Luke Combs
Luke Combs performs on his Growin’ Up and Gettin’ Old Tour; Photo by David Bergman, Courtesy of Luke Combs

To celebrate his latest release, Combs will be featured on “CBS Sunday Morning” this Sunday, Father’s Day, and will speak with correspondent Kelefa Sanneh. 

Luke Combs is also currently on the road and making his way to stadiums across the country as part of his record-breaking “Growin’ Up and Gettin’ Old” tour. His next set of sold-out performances will take place at SoFi Stadium in Los Angeles, CA on June 14 and June 15.

Share on:

Madeleine O’Connell graduated from North Central College with a bachelors degree in Journalism and Broadcast Communications before deciding to pursue her studies further at DePaul University. There, she earned her masters degree in Digital Communication & Media Arts. O’Connell served as a freelance writer for over two years while also interning with the Academy of Country Music, SiriusXM and Circle Media and assisting with Amazon Music’s Country Heat Weekly podcast. In addition to Country Now, she has been published in American Songwriter, Music Mayhem, and Holler.Country. Madeleine O’Connell is a member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.