Maren Morris and Luke Combs Among 2020 iHeartRadio Music Awards Nominees

Nominees for the 2020 iHeartRadio Music Awards were revealed Wednesday (Jan. 8) and there are quite a few country artists…


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

January 8, 2020


12:12 pm

Share on:

Maren Morris, Luke Combs; Photos by Andrew Wendowski

Nominees for the 2020 iHeartRadio Music Awards were revealed Wednesday (Jan. 8) and there are quite a few country artists included in the mix.

Luke Combs, Maren Morris, Morgan Wallen, Dan + Shay and Billy Ray Cyrus each received multiple nominations, while artists such as Blake Shelton, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Thomas Rhett, Justin Moore, Jimmie Allen, Matt Stell, Riley Green and Runaway June scored a single nod.

Famed country songwriter Ashley Gorley also received a nomination in the Songwriter of the Year category.

A number of the categories are are determined by social votes. Fans can visit the official iHeartRadio Awards website to learn more.

The 2020 iHeartRadio Music Awards will air live on FOX Sunday, March 29 at 8 pm ET. The show will also broadcast live on iHeartRadio stations nationwide and on the iHeartRadio app.

Categories including country artists can be seen below. Click HERE to view the complete list of nominees.

Male Artist of the Year:

Ed Sheeran


Luke Combs

Post Malone

Shawn Mendes

Best Duo/Group of the Year: 

Dan + Shay

Imagine Dragons

Jonas Brothers

Maroon 5

Panic! At The Disco

Country Song of the Year:

“Beautiful Crazy” – Luke Combs

“GIRL” – Maren Morris

“God’s Country” – Blake Shelton

“The Ones That Didn’t Make It Back Home” – Justin Moore

“Whiskey Glasses” – Morgan Wallen

Country Artist of the Year:

Carrie Underwood

Dan + Shay

Luke Bryan

Luke Combs

Thomas Rhett

Best New Country Artist:

Jimmie Allen

Matt Stell

Morgan Wallen

Riley Green

Runaway June

Songwriter of the Year:

Ashley Gorley


Frank Dukes

Louis Bell

Savan Kotecha

Best Lyrics: *Socially Voted Category

“10,000 Hours” – Dan + Shay & Justin Bieber

“7 rings” – Ariana Grande

“bad guy” – Billie Eilish

“Beautiful People” – Ed Sheeran featuring Khalid

“Hot Girl Summer” – Megan Thee Stallion featuring Nicki Minaj & Ty Dolla $ign

“Juice” – Lizzo

“Lose You To Love Me” – Selena Gomez

“Nightmare” – Halsey

“Señorita” – Shawn Mendes & Camila Cabello

“Someone You Loved” – Lewis Capaldi

“The Bones” – Maren Morris

“You Need to Calm Down” – Taylor Swift

Best Cover Song: *Socially Voted Category

Led Zeppelin – “Black Dog” – Miley Cyrus cover

Ariana Grande – “break up with your girlfriend, i’m bored” – Lana Del Rey cover

Phil Collins – “Can’t Stop Loving You” – Taylor Swift cover

Sam Smith & Normani – “Dancing With A Stranger” – 5SOS cover

Elvin Bishop – “Fooled Around and Fell in Love” – Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris, Elle King, Ashley McBryde, Tenille Townes, Caylee Hammack cover

The Rembrandts – “I’ll Be There For You” – Meghan Trainor cover

Taylor Swift – “Lover” – Keith Urban cover

Lewis Capaldi – “Someone You Loved” – Camila Cabello cover

Jonas Brothers – “Sucker” – Halsey cover

Post Malone – “Sunflower” – Vampire Weekend cover

Best Music Video: *Socially Voted Category

“7 rings” – Ariana Grande

“bad guy” – Billie Eilish

“Boy With Luv” – BTS featuring Halsey

“Con Altura” – Rosalía, J Balvin featuring El Guincho

“Con Calma” – Daddy Yankee & Snow

“Dancing With A Stranger” – Sam Smith & Normani

“I Don’t Care” – Ed Sheeran & Justin Bieber

“Kill This Love” – BLACKPINK

“ME!” – Taylor Swift featuring Brendon Urie

“Old Town Road” – Lil Nas X featuring Billy Ray Cyrus

“Señorita” – Shawn Mendes & Camila Cabello

“Sucker” – Jonas Brothers

Best Remix: *Socially Voted Category

“bad guy” – Billie Eilish (with Justin Bieber)

“Con Calma” – Daddy Yankee, Katy Perry featuring Snow

“Good As Hell” – Lizzo featuring Ariana Grande

“Higher Love” – Kygo & Whitney Houston

“Lover” – Taylor Swift featuring Shawn Mendes

“Old Town Road” – Lil Nas X featuring Billy Ray Cyrus

“The Bones” – Maren Morris featuring Hozier

“Thotiana” – Blueface featuring Cardi B and YG

“Trampoline” – SHAED featuring Zayn

“Without Me” – Halsey featuring Juice WRLD

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for and her work being featured on She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.