Star-Studded Lineup Announced For 6th Annual Nashville Songwriter Awards: Blake Shelton, Cole Swindell, And More To Perform

The event will take place on September 26, 2023 at Nashville’s famed Ryman Auditorium.


Lauren Jo Black

| Posted on

August 10, 2023


4:10 pm

Share on:

Blake Shelton; Photo by Jason Kempin/Getty Images, Cole Swindell; Photo by Andrew Wendowski

Trannie Anderson, Renee Blair, Ben Johnson, Tracy Lawrence, Megan Moroney, Hunter Phelps, Emily Shackelton, Blake Shelton, Cole Swindell, Dallas Wilson, and more are confirmed to take the stage at the upcoming 6th Annual Nashville Songwriter Awards. 

The Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) along with presenting partner City National Bank recently unveiled the news and confirmed that the celebratory evening will take place at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium on Tuesday, September 26, 2023. 

The upcoming two-hour ceremony will revolve around a night honoring the innovative creators of beloved hit songs, along with individuals who play a pivotal role in the achievement of the songwriting craft. The event will unveil recipients of the ‘Songwriter’ and ‘Songwriter-Artist of the Year’ distinctions, while also highlighting the winners of the peer-voted ‘Song of the Year’ and ’10 Songs I Wish I’d Written’ awards – a highly esteemed accolade within the songwriting community. 

Nashville Songwriter Awards
Nashville Songwriter Awards

Additionally, the event will honor Bobby Braddock (recipient of the Kris Kristofferson Lifetime Achievement Award), Tim McGraw (honored with the NSAI President’s Keystone Award), and Davis Israelite (recognized with the NSAI Advocacy Award).  

Presenting partner City National Bank returns for the fifth year in a row, continuing their unwavering support of NSAI and the songwriting community.

“City National Bank has a long history of supporting the music industry, especially songwriters,” said Lori Badgett and Diane Pearson, heads of Entertainment Banking for City National in Nashville, in a joint statement. “We are proud to support the Nashville Songwriter Awards again this year and to celebrate the talent and contributions of these amazing songwriters who mean so much to our industry.”

The Nashville Songwriter Awards hold high esteem as some of the most sought-after accolades within the industry. The ’10 Songs I Wish I’d Written’ and ‘Song of the Year’ awards are exclusively determined by the honorees’ peers, while the Songwriter and Songwriter-Artist of the Year awards recognize the Nashville-based songwriter and songwriter-artist with the most significant chart performance during the eligible timeframe.

Every year, the Nashville Songwriters Association International, the world’s largest nonprofit trade organization for songwriters, takes charge of producing the event. This association is committed to safeguarding the rights of and assisting both budding and established songwriters across all music genres.

Tickets for the Nashville Songwriter Awards are available to purchase now

Ashley Gorley, Taylor Swift, Matthew West; Photos by Andrew Wendowski
Ashley Gorley, Taylor Swift, Matthew West; Photos by Andrew Wendowski

Last Year’s Honorees

In 2022, special honorees included Garth Brooks, who was on hand to accept the Kris Kristofferson Lifetime Achievement Award, Ashley Gorley, who was named Songwriter of the Decade and Songwriter of the Year, Taylor Swift, who was crowned Songwriter-Artist of the Decade, and Matthew West, who earned the title of Songwriter-Artist of the Year. 

Another high honor, Song of the Year, was awarded to Jacob Davis, Jordan Davis, Josh Jenkins, and Matt Jenkins for “Buy Dirt,” a chart-topping hit recorded by Jordan Davis featuring Luke Bryan. 

The 2022 event featured special guests Sam Hunt, Kelsea Ballerini, Parmalee, GAYLE, HARDY, Alana Springsteen, Walker Hayes, Tigirlily, Thomas Rhett and Babyface. 

The ‘10 Songs I Wish I’d Written’ actually included 11 songs. Those songs were: 

“23” – Written by:  Sam Hunt, Chris LaCorte, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne 

“7500 OBO” – Written by: Matt McGinn, Jenn Schott, Nathan Spicer 

“abcdefu” – Written by:  Sara Davis, GAYLE, Dave Pittenger 

“Fancy Like” – Written by: Cameron “Cambo” Bartolini, Walker Hayes, Josh Jenkins, Shane Stevens

“Half Of My Hometown” – Written by: Kelsea Ballerini, Ross Copperman, Nicolle Galyon, Shane McAnally, Jimmy Robbins

“Knowing You” – Written by: Kat Higgins, Adam James, Brett James

“Never Wanted To Be That Girl” – Written by: Shane McAnally, Ashley McBryde, Carly Pearce

“Sand In My Boots” – Written by: Ashley Gorley, Michael Hardy, Josh Osborne

“Things A Man Oughta Know” – Written by: Jason Nix, Jonathan Singleton, Lainey Wilson 

“’Til You Can’t” – Written by: Matthew J. Rogers, Ben Stennis

“You Should Probably Leave” – Written by: Chris Dubois, Ashley Gorley, Chris Stapleton

Share on:

Lauren Jo Black

Written by

Lauren Jo Black

Lauren Jo Black, a University of Central Florida graduate, has immersed herself in the world of country music for over 15 years. In 2008, she co-founded CountryMusicIsLove, eventually selling it to a major record label in 2015. Following the rebranding of the website to Sounds Like Nashville, Black served as Editor-in-Chief for two and a half years. Currently, she assumes the role of Editor-in-Chief at Country Now and oversees Country Now’s content and digital footprint. Her extensive experience also encompasses her previous role as a Country Music Expert Writer for and her work being featured on She’s been spotlighted among Country Aircheck’s Women of Influence and received the 2012 Rising Star Award from the University of Central Florida. Black also spent time in front of the camera as host of Country Now Live, which brought live music directly to fans in 2021 when the majority of concerts were halted due to the pandemic. During this time, she hosted 24 weeks of live concerts via Country Now Live on Twitch with special guests such as Lady A, Dierks Bentley, Jordan Davis, Brett Young, and Jon Pardi. Over the course of her career, she has had the privilege of conducting interviews with some of the industry’s most prominent stars, including Reba McEntire, Blake Shelton, Luke Combs, Carrie Underwood, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Lainey Wilson, and many others. Lauren Jo Black is a longtime member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.