LISTEN: Luke Combs Drops Thrilling New Single, ‘Ain’t No Love In Oklahoma,’ From Upcoming ‘Twisters: The Album’

The star-studded project is set to drop Friday, July 19 in conjunction with the highly anticipated new film, “Twisters.”


Madeleine O’Connell

| Posted on

May 21, 2024


12:35 pm

Share on:

Luke Combs; Photo by Jeremy Cowart

Luke Combs unveils “Ain’t No Love In Oklahoma,” the lead track to the forthcoming project, TWISTERS: THE ALBUM, which will be released in conjunction with the highly anticipated Twisters film on Friday, July 19.

The electrifying single was penned by Combs with Jessi Alexander and Jonathan Singleton and brings a whole new element of thrill to the country star’s catalog. In the opening verse, the adrenaline begins pumping harder and harder with each note as Combs makes it clear that he’s ready for face whatever kind of storm may be coming his way. 

He sings, “I keep chasin’ that same old devil down the same old dead-end highway / Ridin’ that storm runnin’ through my veins like a shot down tail-spun airplane / Scared of nothin’ and I’m scared to death / I can’t breathe then I catch my breath / But I keep chasin’ that same old devil down the same old dead-end highway.”

As the chorus approaches, Combs’ determination gets stronger, his vocals become grittier and the electric guitars turn into scorching riffs.

 “Ain’t no love in Oklahoma/ Just the whistle of a lone black train/ You’ll know when it’s coming for ya/ Riding in on the wind and rain,” he delivers on the powerful chorus.

Accompanying Music Video

Alongside the release of “Ain’t No Love In Oklahoma” came an accompanying music video that features a special cameo from NASCAR driver, John Hunter Nemechek. When everyone else runs away from the strong winds and pouring rain, the North Carolina shuts down any fears he may have and walks straight into the middle of the storm to let his true feelings emerge.

YouTube video

The song offers the first taste of TWISTERS: THE ALBUM, which has been described as “the star-studded musical companion to the new adrenaline-pumping, big-screen thrill ride, Twisters, from Universal Pictures, Warner Bros. Pictures and Amblin Entertainment.” The project will feature 19 new tracks recorded by a star-studded lineup of artists including Luke Combs, Miranda Lambert, Jelly Roll, Lainey Wilson, Bailey Zimmerman, Kane Brown, Thomas Rhett, Megan Moroney, Shania Twain, Tyler Childers, and more.

Luke Combs; Twisters The Album
Luke Combs; Twisters The Album


1. Luke Combs – Ain’t No Love In Oklahoma

2. Miranda Lambert – Ain’t In Kansas Anymore

3. Conner Smith – Steal My Thunder (feat. Tucker Wetmore)

4. Thomas Rhett – Feelin’ Country

5. Warren Zeiders – The Cards I’ve Been Dealt

6. Megan Moroney – Never Left Me

7. Lainey Wilson – Out of Oklahoma

8. Bailey Zimmerman – Hell Or High Water

9. Jelly Roll – Dead End Road

10. Kane Brown – Country Classic

11. Sam Barber – Tear Us Apart

12. Tyler Childers – Song While You’re Away

13. Tucker Wetmore – Already Had It

14. Leon Bridges – Chrome Cowgirl 

15. Benson Boone – Death Wish Love

16. Shania Twain & BRELAND – Boots Don’t

17. Dylan Gossett – Stronger Than A Storm

18. Lanie Gardner – Chasing The Wind

19. Jelly Roll – Leave The Light On (feat. Alexandra Kay)

20. Wyatt Flores & Jake Kohn – Before I Do

21. The Red Clay Strays  – Caddo County

22. Tanner Usrey – Blackberry Wine

23. Tanner Adell – Too Easy

24. Mason Ramsey – Shake Shake (All Night Long)

25. Tyler Halverson – New Loop

26. Flatland Cavalry – Touchdown

27. Nolan Taylor – Driving You Home

28. Wilderado, Ken Pomeroy, & James McAlister – Wall of Death

29. Charley Crockett – (Ghost) Riders In The Sky

Coming To Theaters This Summer

This summer, Twisters, “a current-day chapter of the 1996 blockbuster,” will return to the big screen with stars Daisy Edgar-Jones, Glen Powell, Anthony Ramos, and an exciting ensemble cast that includes Brandon Perea, Maura Tierney, Sasha Lane and more. Directed by Lee Isaac Chung and produced by Oscar® nominee Frank Marshall (Jurassic and Indiana Jones franchises) and by Patrick Crowley (Jurassic and Bourne franchises), the film finds Edgar-Jones playing the role of Kate Carter, a former storm chaser, who is convinced into returning to the open plains to test a groundbreaking new tracking system with her friend, Javi (Ramos). There, she is met with social media superstar Tyler Owens (Powell), who is known for honing in on his storm-chasing content.

While the crew of individuals have opposing motivations for their dangerous adventures, they must come together when the weather intensifys, putting them in the paths of multiple storm systems over central Oklahoma. 

YouTube video

Twisters: The Album is now available for pre-order HERE and arrives in stores and at all online retailers on Friday, July 19th along with the release of the film.   

Luke Combs’ contribution to the album comes in the midst of his current Growin’ Up and Gettin’ Old U.S. stadium tour. Next up, he will deliver sold-out back-to-back shows at Phoenix’s State Farm Stadium on May 31 and June 1, followed by Los Angeles’ SoFi Stadium on June 14 and June 15 and East Rutherford’s MetLife Stadium on July 19 and July 19, among many others.

Share on:

Madeleine O’Connell graduated from North Central College with a bachelors degree in Journalism and Broadcast Communications before deciding to pursue her studies further at DePaul University. There, she earned her masters degree in Digital Communication & Media Arts. O’Connell served as a freelance writer for over two years while also interning with the Academy of Country Music, SiriusXM and Circle Media and assisting with Amazon Music’s Country Heat Weekly podcast. In addition to Country Now, she has been published in American Songwriter, Music Mayhem, and Holler.Country. Madeleine O’Connell is a member of the Country Music Association and the Academy of Country Music.